Language selector

The proclamation project

Page controls

Page content

Municipalities play a critical role in nurturing human rights and creating equitable environments where everyone is included in work and services, and everyone can enjoy the benefits of their community. That’s why we invited every municipality in Ontario to join us in celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Code.

We suggested they proclaim June 11 – 15 as Ontario Human Rights Code Week, or June 15 as Ontario Human Rights Code Day. Proclaiming the day or the week gave them an opportunity to encourage all residents to think about how far we have come in 50 years, and about the changes the next 50 years may bring in our homes, our workplaces, in services, and in communities across Ontario.

The response has been overwhelmingly positive, as more than 80 municipalities are proclaiming either the day or week. As well, several municipalities that do not make official proclamations have responded by addressing the anniversary in their council meetings.

Here are the municipalities who are sharing in the celebration:

  1. Town of Ajax
  2. Town of Amherstburg
  3. Township of Armour
  4. Municipality of Arran-Elderslie
  5. Township of Augusta
  6. City of Barrie
  7. Township of Billings
  8. City of Brampton
  9. City of Brantford
  10. Municipality of Brockton
  11. City of Brockville
  12. Town of Bruce Mines
  13. Town of Caledon
  14. Town of Carleton Place
  15. Township of Chisholm
  16. Municipality of Clarington
  17. Town of Cochrane
  18. Township of Cramahe
  19. Township of Ear Falls
  20. Town of East Gwillimbury
  21. Town of Englehart
  22. Township of Essa
  23. Town of Fort Erie
  24. Township of Front of Yonge
  25. Town of Gananoque
  26. Town of Goderich
  27. Township of Huron-Kinloss
  28. Town of Innisfil
  29. Town of Kapuskasing
  30. City of Kawartha Lakes
  31. Township of Killaloe, Hagarty & Richards
  32. Loyalist Township
  33. Township of MacDonald, Meredith & Aberdeen Add'l
  34. Town of Marathon
  35. Town of Markham
  36. Township of McKellar
  37. Town of Midland
  38. Town of Milton
  39. Township of Nairn & Hyman
  40. Town of Newmarket
  41. Norfolk County
  42. Township of North Algona Wilberforce
  43. City of North Bay
  44. Township of North Huron
  45. Town of Oakville
  46. City of Orillia
  47. Township of Oro-Medonte
  48. City of Oshawa
  49. City of Ottawa
  50. Town of Parry Sound
  51. Region of Peel
  52. Town of Penetanguishene
  53. Town of Perth
  54. City of Peterborough
  55. Town of Petrolia
  56. City of Port Colborne
  57. County of Prince Edward
  58. City of Quinte West
  59. County of Renfrew
  60. Town of Renfrew
  61. Town of Richmond Hill
  62. Township of Rideau Lakes
  63. Municipality of Sioux Lookout
  64. Municipality of South Bruce
  65. Town of Smiths Falls
  66. Township of St. Joseph
  67. City of St. Thomas
  68. Township of Stirling-Rawdon
  69. City of Stratford
  70. Town of Tecumseh
  71. City of Temiskamaing Shores
  72. Township of Archipelago
  73. The Nation Municipality
  74. City of Thorold
  75. City of Timmins
  76. City of Toronto
  77. Township of Tudor & Cashel
  78. City of Vaughan
  79. Township of Wainfleet
  80. Region of Waterloo
  81. Municipality of Wawa
  82. Town of Whitchurch - Stouffville
  83. Municipality of Whitestone
  84. City of Windsor
  85. Regional Municipality of York
  86. Township of Severn
  87. Township of Adjala-Tosoronto
  88. Town of Arnprior
  89. Township of Faraday
  90. Town of Wasaga Beach