Language selector

contracts

Q&A on human rights 101

Webinar Information

Q&A on human rights 101

Human Rights 101 - Q&A

July 17, 2014 at 11:00 am

30 minutes

Q&A webinar on Human Rights 101 eLearning

English

Preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression

Webinar Information

Preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression

Gender Identity and Expression Webinar

June 04, 2014 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression overview and Q&A.

English

Competing human rights

Webinar Information

Competing human rights

Competing Human Rights Webinar

August 01, 2013 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Overview of the Policy and framework for addressing competing rights.

English

A policy primer: Guide to developing human rights policies and procedures

December 2013 - The purpose of this guide is to provide organizations with some practical help for developing effective and fair ways to prevent human rights infringements, and for responding to human rights issues such as harassment, discrimination and accommodation needs. Employers, landlords and service providers all have an obligation to make sure that human rights are respected, and can all benefit from the information provided in this publication.

OHRC releases statement on IBAs and human rights

March 4, 2014

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is releasing a public statement (attached) clarifying the legitimate status of preferential employment and contracting provisions within Impact and Benefit Agreements (IBAs) under Ontario’s Human Rights Code (the Code). Our position is that the preferential employment and contracting provisions in IBAs are consistent with “special programs” under section 14 of the Code.

Employment and contracting provisions in Impact and Benefit Agreements are special programs under Ontario’s Human Rights Code

February 2014 - Impact and Benefit Agreements (IBAs) are becoming an industry standard for resource development projects that are located on or impact Aboriginal Peoples’ traditional lands and rights. The agreements often contain employment and contracting provisions that give priority for training, hiring and contracting to Aboriginal Peoples.When Aboriginal governments choose to enter into IBAs, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) supports developing and implementing preferential employment and contracting provisions in IBAs, to address historical disadvantage and promote substantive equality for Aboriginal Peoples in Ontario.

Your guide to special programs and the Human Rights Code

December 2013 - Under the Code, all organizations are prohibited from treating people unfairly because of Code grounds, must remove barriers that cause discrimination, and must stop it when it occurs. Organizations can also choose to develop “special programs” to help disadvantaged groups improve their situation. The Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms both recognize the importance of addressing historical disadvantage by protecting special programs to help marginalized groups. The Supreme Court of Canada has also recognized the need to protect “programs” established by legislation that are designed to address the conditions of a disadvantaged group.

Discrimination in employment under government contracts

From: Guide to your rights and responsibilities under the Human Rights Code

The right to freedom from discrimination in employment applies to government contracts or subcontracts. This right applies to government agency contracts also.

The right to be free from discrimination in employment applies to carrying out government grants, contributions, loans or guarantees. This right also applies to government agencies.

Restrictions for insurance contracts

From: Guide to your rights and responsibilities under the Human Rights Code

There is an exception to the rule that services and contracts must be offered without discrimination. This section allows insurance providers to make distinctions based on age, sex, marital and family status or disability when they offer individual accident, sickness or disability insurance or group insurance (not part of an employment situation). However, these distinctions must be made on reasonable and genuine grounds.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - contracts

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

contrats

Les troubles mentaux et les dépendances

Détails du webinaire

Les troubles mentaux et les dépendances

La prévention de la discrimination fondée sur les troubles mentaux et les dépendances

Le 28 Mai 2015 à 11h 00

60 minutes

Survol sur la politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur les troubles mentaux et les dépendances, avec Q et R. 

Français

Une introduction à la politique: Guide d’élaboration des politiques et procédures en matière de droits de la personne

Août 2013 - Ce guide vise à faciliter l’élaboration de solutions efficaces et équitables pour prévenir les atteintes aux droits de la personne et pour y faire face lorsqu’elles surviennent, qu’il s’agisse de harcèlement, de discrimination ou d’une mesure d’adaptation inexistante ou inadéquate. Employeurs, locateurs et fournisseurs de services ont tous l’obligation de s’assurer du respect des droits de la personne, et peuvent tous tirer parti des renseignements figurant dans ce document.

La CODP publie une déclaration sur les ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages et les droits de la personne

Mars 4, 2014

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne publie une déclaration (ci-jointe) clarifiant le statut légitime des dispositions préférentielles en matière d'emploi et d'octroi de contrats que contiennent des ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages en vertu du Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario (le Code). Nous sommes d'avis que ces dispositions préférentielles constituent des « programmes spéciaux », en vertu de l'article 14 du Code.

Les dispositions relatives à l'emploi et à l'octroi de contrats dans les ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages constituent des programmes spéciaux en vertu du Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario

Février 2014 - Les ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages sont en passe de devenir une norme de l'industrie pour les projets de développement des ressources qui ont lieu sur des territoires traditionnels de peuples autochtones et qui ont un impact sur ces territoires et les droits qui s'y rattachent[1]. Les ententes contiennent souvent des dispositions préférentielles en matière d'emploi et d'octroi de contrats qui confèrent la priorité aux membres des peuples autochtones pour la formation, l'embauchage et l'octroi de contrats. Lorsque des gouvernements autochtones décident de conclure une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) soutient l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de dispositions préférentielles en matière d'emploi et d'octroi de contrats dans l'entente, dans l'objectif de corriger les désavantages du passé et de promouvoir une véritable égalité pour les peuples autochtones en Ontario.

Guide des programmes spéciaux et du Code des droits de la personne

Août 2013 - En vertu du Code, chaque organisme est tenu d’interdire tout traitement inéquitable, d’éliminer les obstacles qui donnent lieu à une discrimination et d’y mettre fin lorsqu’une telle situation survient. Par ailleurs, les organismes peuvent choisir d’élaborer des « programmes spéciaux » pour aider des groupes défavorisés à jouir de chances égales. Le Code et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés reconnaissent l’importance de rectifier les désavantages historiques et d’aider les groupes marginalisés en protégeant les programmes spéciaux. La Cour suprême du Canada a également statué qu’il était nécessaire de protéger les programmes instaurés en application de la législation et visant à s’adapter aux conditions d’un groupe défavorisé.

Discrimination en matière d’emploi dans le cadre des contrats du gouvernement

From: Guide concernant vos droits et responsabilités en vertu du Code des droits de la personne

Le droit d’être à l’abri de toute discrimination en matière d’emploi s’applique aux contrats ou contrats de sous-traitance conclus avec le gouvernement ou avec l’un de ses organismes.

Le droit d’être à l’abri de toute discrimination en matière d’emploi s’applique aux subventions, à l’aide financière, aux garanties et aux prêts accordés par le gouvernement ou par l’un de ses organismes.

Restrictions relatives aux contrats d’assurance

From: Guide concernant vos droits et responsabilités en vertu du Code des droits de la personne

Il existe une exception à l’obligation d’offrir des services et des contrats sans exercer de discrimination. Elle autorise les fournisseurs de services d’assurance à faire des distinctions fondées sur l’âge, le sexe, l’état matrimonial et familial ou un handicap lorsqu’ils offrent une assurance-accidents, une assurance-maladie ou une assurance-invalidité individuelle ou une assurance-groupe (hors du cadre d’un emploi). Cependant, ces distinctions doivent être raisonnables et de bonne foi.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - contrats