Language selector

accommodation (housing)

Report on the inquiry into rental housing licensing in the City of Waterloo

The City of Waterloo’s rental housing licensing bylaw came into effect on April 1, 2012. The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) was concerned that the licensing regime might discriminate against groups protected under the Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) and cause them to lose their current housing, or to have a harder time finding housing in future. As a result, the OHRC initiated an inquiry to learn more.

OHRC wraps up inquiry into rental housing licensing in North Bay, publishes new guide on human rights and licensing

May 8, 2013

Toronto – The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) today released a report on its inquiry into rental housing licensing in the City of North Bay. The report outlines what the OHRC heard, identifies the City’s response to some concerns, gives recommendations for advancing human rights moving forward, and also refers to one part of the bylaw where human rights issues remain.

Report on the inquiry into rental housing licensing in the City of North Bay

May 2013 - The City of North Bay’s rental housing licensing bylaw was enacted on January 1, 2012 and came into effect on May 1, 2012. Among other things, this bylaw imposed a bedroom cap, gross floor area requirements and a licensing fee on certain rental units. The OHRC was concerned that the bylaw might reduce the availability of low-cost rental housing and in turn disadvantage groups protected under the Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) who rely on that housing. As a result, the OHRC initiated an inquiry to learn more.

Room for everyone: Human rights and rental housing licensing

May 2013 - Room for everyone: Human rights and rental housing licensing addresses how licensing provisions in municipal bylaws may disadvantage groups protected by Ontario’s Human Rights Code (the Code), gives an overview of human rights responsibilities in licensing rental housing, and makes recommendations to help municipalities protect the human rights of tenants.

OHRC Submission to the MMAH on proposed changes to the Ontario Building Code

March 1 2013 - The OHRC recognizes that accessibility requirements have been enhanced with each new edition of the Building Code regulation and welcomes the latest proposal for new barrier-free design requirements. The OHRC also has a number of concerns about the proposed changes as well as additional recommendations for barrier-free requirements in the Building Code regulation.

MMAH Provincial Policy Statement Review on land use planning - OHRC letter

December 7, 2012

Dear Minister, Please find attached the submission of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) regarding the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing’s proposed amendments to the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) 2005 on land use planning. The OHRC made an initial submission when your Ministry’s review began in 2010.

MMAH Provincial Policy Statement Review on land use planning - OHRC submission

November 23, 2012 - The Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing (MMAH) is proposing amendments to the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) 2005 on land use planning issued under the Planning Act (Act). The Act requires the PPS be reviewed every five years. The Ministry began the review in March 2010. The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is pleased to see proposed amendments that address some of the concerns and recommendations from its initial submission made in 2010 as well as other amendments that would further advance protection for human rights. The OHRC especially welcomes proposed additions that would recognize the interests of Aboriginal communities.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

Rapport de l’enquête sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif dans la ville de Waterloo

Le règlement municipal de la ville de Waterloo régissant la délivrance de permis autorisant les logements locatifs est entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2012. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) se préoccupait du fait que le régime d’autorisation de la Ville puisse être discriminatoire envers des groupes protégés par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le Code) et faire en sorte qu’ils perdent leur logement actuel ou aient plus de difficultés à se trouver un logement dans l’avenir. C’est pourquoi la CODP a entrepris une enquête pour en apprendre davantage.

La CODP conclut son enquête sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif à North Bay, publie un nouveau guide sur les droits de la personne et l'autorisation des logements locatifs

Mai 8, 2013

Toronto – La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a publié, aujourd'hui, un rapport sur son enquête sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif dans la ville de North Bay.

Rapport de l’enquête sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif dans la ville de North Bay

Mai 2013 - Le règlement municipal de la ville de North Bay régissant la délivrance de permis autorisant les logements locatifs a été adopté le 1er janvier 2012 et est entré en vigueur le 1er mai 2012. Entre autres, ce règlement impose un nombre maximal de chambres à coucher, des exigences en matière de surface de plancher brute et des droits d’obtention de permis pour certaines unité de logements locatifs. La CODP se préoccupait du fait que le règlement municipal puisse réduire l’accès à des logements locatifs abordables et ainsi nuire aux groupes protégés par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (Code) qui dépendent de l’accès à ce genre de logements. C’est pourquoi la CODP a entrepris une enquête pour en apprendre davantage.

Observations de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne à l'attention de la réunion publique réglementaire au sujet de l'ébauche de règlement de zonage applicable à toute la ville

Mars 2013 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a le plaisir de soumettre ses commentaires au sujet de l'ébauche de règlement de zonage de la ville de Toronto. Nous craignons que certaines questions relatives aux droits de la personne n'aient toujours pas été prises en considération.

Mémoire de la CODP au MAML sur les modifications proposées au Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario

1er mars 2013 - La CODP reconnait que les exigences en matière d’accessibilité ont été renforcées à chaque nouvelle édition du Code du bâtiment. À ce titre, la CODP accueille favorablement la dernière proposition de nouvelles exigences en matière d’accessibilité. La CODP exprime un certain nombre de préoccupations concernant les changements proposés et recommande d’ajouter dans le Code du bâtiment des exigences supplémentaires en matière d’accessibilité.

Examen de la Déclaration de principes provinciale relative à l’aménagement du territoire menée par le MAML – Lettre de la CODP

Décembre 7, 2012

Monsieur, Vous trouverez ci-joint le Mémoire de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne portant sur les modifications proposées par le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement à la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) de 2005 relative à l’aménagement du territoire. La CODP a déposé un mémoire initial sur la question lorsque votre ministère a entrepris son examen de la DPP, en 2010.

Examen de la Déclaration de principes provinciale relative à l’aménagement du territoire menée par le MAML – Mémoire de la CODP

Le 23 november 2012 - Le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement (MAML) propose d’apporter des modifications à la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) de 2005 relative à l’aménagement du territoire, émise aux termes de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire (Loi). La Loi prévoit le réexamen de la DPP tous les cinq ans. Le ministère à entrepris la révision de la DPP en mars 2010. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) est heureuse de voir que des modifications ont été proposées pour régler des préoccupations et mettre en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans ses commentaires initiaux, soumis en 2010, et protéger davantage les droits de la personne. Surtout, la CODP accueille favorablement les ajouts proposés en vue de reconnaître les intérêts des communautés autochtones.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement