Language selector

accommodation (housing)

Re: Student housing can benefit a neighbourhood, Feb. 19

February 21, 2014 – Thank you for pointing out that “student housing can benefit a neighbourhood.” The points you make about not applying different rules for students, and the need to focus on the character of a building instead of potential tenants, echo the human rights messages we have been sending across Ontario. Everyone – including students – has human rights in housing. Making decisions based on the “perceived desirability of the people who might want to live there” is not the way to build healthy, welcoming communities.

Your guide to special programs and the Human Rights Code

December 2013 - Under the Code, all organizations are prohibited from treating people unfairly because of Code grounds, must remove barriers that cause discrimination, and must stop it when it occurs. Organizations can also choose to develop “special programs” to help disadvantaged groups improve their situation. The Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms both recognize the importance of addressing historical disadvantage by protecting special programs to help marginalized groups. The Supreme Court of Canada has also recognized the need to protect “programs” established by legislation that are designed to address the conditions of a disadvantaged group.

Submission to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing on land use planning and appeal system review

January 2014 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has used a range of its functions to reduce and eliminate discrimination relating to land use planning. However, to meet Ministry goals and be consistent with Ontario’s Human Rights Code, the land use planning and appeal system needs to incorporate a human rights lens and provide human rights-related information, education and resources to those who implement and use the system. Planners and decision-makers throughout the system and in municipalities will benefit from clear guidance from the Province.

Sexual harassment [16]

From: Guide to your rights and responsibilities under the Human Rights Code

Sexual harassment in housing and workplaces

“Harassment” in this section means comments or actions based on sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression that are unwelcome to you or should be known to be unwelcome. They may include humiliating or annoying conduct. Harassment requires a “course of conduct,” which means that a pattern of behaviour or more than one incident is usually required for a claim to be made to the Tribunal. However, a single significant incident may be offensive enough to be considered sexual harassment.

Proposed lodging house licensing bylaw and the associated proposed zoning bylaw amendment

November 29, 2013

Lodging houses are an important form of affordable housing for many vulnerable groups identified by Human Rights Code grounds, including residents who receive public assistance, racialized persons, people with disabilities, newcomers, older and younger people, and single women. For this reason, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) offers the following comments on the proposed lodging house licensing bylaw and the accompanying zoning bylaw amendment.

Submission to the City of Toronto on group homes and “dwelling room accommodation” – October 22. 2013

October 21, 2013

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) would like to bring several items to the attention of the Planning and Growth Management Committee as the Committee considers the Chief Planner’s reports on group homes and dwelling room accommodations at its October 22, 2013 meeting.

8. Preventing and responding to sexual harassment

From: Policy on preventing sexual and gender-based harassment

The ultimate responsibility for maintaining an environment free from sexual harassment rests with employers, housing providers, educators and other responsible parties covered by the Code. From a human rights perspective, it is not acceptable to choose to stay unaware of sexual harassment, whether or not a human rights claim has been made.[170]

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

Guide des programmes spéciaux et du Code des droits de la personne

Août 2013 - En vertu du Code, chaque organisme est tenu d’interdire tout traitement inéquitable, d’éliminer les obstacles qui donnent lieu à une discrimination et d’y mettre fin lorsqu’une telle situation survient. Par ailleurs, les organismes peuvent choisir d’élaborer des « programmes spéciaux » pour aider des groupes défavorisés à jouir de chances égales. Le Code et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés reconnaissent l’importance de rectifier les désavantages historiques et d’aider les groupes marginalisés en protégeant les programmes spéciaux. La Cour suprême du Canada a également statué qu’il était nécessaire de protéger les programmes instaurés en application de la législation et visant à s’adapter aux conditions d’un groupe défavorisé.

Mémoire au ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement concernant l’examen du système d’aménagement du territoire et de son mécanisme d’appel

Janvier 2014 - Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) s’est employée à réduire et à éliminer la discrimination en lien avec l’aménagement du territoire. Cependant, pour satisfaire aux objectifs du ministère et se conformer au Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, le système d’aménagement du territoire et son mécanisme d’appel doivent inclure une perspective des droits de la personne et fournir à ceux qui les mettent en œuvre et les utilisent des renseignements, de l’éducation et des ressources sur les droits de la personne. Les urbanistes et décideurs de l’ensemble du système et des municipalités bénéficieront de directives claires de la part de la province.

Logement [4]

From: Guide concernant vos droits et responsabilités en vertu du Code des droits de la personne

L’égalité du droit au logement est protégée par le Code. Vous avez droit à un traitement égal lorsque vous achetez, vendez ou louez un logement, une maison, un condominium ou un local commercial et lorsque vous êtes sous le coup d’une expulsion. Ce droit s’applique aussi à la location ou à l’expulsion d’une chambre d’hôtel.

Le Code s’applique aux modalités des baux et contrats de location concernant le montant du loyer, les dépôts de garantie, le recours aux garants, les règlements d’occupation, la clôture d’un bail et l’expulsion.

Projet de règlement d’autorisation pour des maisons de chambres et projet de modification connexe du règlement de zonage

Novembre 29, 2013

Les maisons de chambres sont un type important de logement abordable pour de nombreux groupes vulnérables répertoriés selon les motifs du Code des droits de la personne, dont les résidents qui touchent une aide publique, les personnes racialisées, les personnes handicapées, les nouveaux arrivants, les personnes âgées et jeunes, et les femmes célibataires. C’est pourquoi la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) soumet les commentaires suivants à propos du projet de règlement d’autorisation pour les maisons de chambres et la modification connexe du règlement de zonage.

Observations communiquées à la ville de Toronto à propos des foyers de groupe et des « logements dans une pièce d’habitation » – 22 octobre 2013

Octobre 21, 2013

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) voudrait porter plusieurs points à l’attention du Comité de planification et de gestion de la croissance, lequel doit se pencher sur les rapports de la planificatrice en chef sur les foyers de groupe et le logement dans une pièce d’habitation lors de sa réunion du 22 octobre 2013.

8. Prévenir et régler le harcèlement sexuel

From: Politique sur la prévention du harcèlement sexuel et du harcèlement fondé sur le sexe

Le maintien d’un milieu exempt de harcèlement sexuel incombe au bout du compte aux employeurs, aux fournisseurs de logements, aux éducateurs et autres parties responsables visées par le Code. Du point de vue des droits de la personne, il n’est pas acceptable d’ignorer des instances de harcèlement sexuel, qu’une plainte pour violation des droits de la personne ait été déposée ou non[170].

La CODP appelle Waterloo à supprimer les dispositions discriminatoires de son règlement municipal sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif

Mai 27, 2013

Toronto – La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a publié, aujourd'hui, un rapport sur son enquête sur la délivrance de permis de logement locatif dans la ville de Waterloo (la Ville).

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement