Language selector

accommodation (housing)

Discrimination based on mental health or addiction disabilities - Information for housing providers (fact sheet)

June 2014 - People with addictions have the same right to be free from discrimination as other people with disabilities. There is often a cross-over between addictions and mental health disabilities, and many people experience both. The Code also protects people from discrimination because of past and perceived disabilities. People with a mental health or addiction disability who also identify with other Code grounds (such as sex, race or age) may be distinctly disadvantaged when they try to find or keep housing. Stereotypes may exist that are based on combinations of these identities that place people at unique disadvantage.

Preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression

Webinar Information

Preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression

Gender Identity and Expression Webinar

June 04, 2014 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression overview and Q&A.

English

Re: Report no. 14-29, Rental housing licensing recommended approach

May 2, 2014

I am writing in support of the steps that are recommended in Report no. 14-29 – that instead of putting a licensing system in place for rental housing, the City of Guelph use existing bylaws to deal with property concerns. Licensing can be a good tool if its focus is on Building Code, Fire Code and health and safety standards, but it is not an appropriate option for dealing with the actions of the people who may live in the housing. This is why we concur with the report’s recommendation to expand existing programs to target the actual problem areas, without adding an extra cost to tenants across the City.

Competing human rights

Webinar Information

Competing human rights

Competing Human Rights Webinar

August 01, 2013 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Overview of the Policy and framework for addressing competing rights.

English

Q&A on the duty to accommodate

Webinar Information

Q&A on the duty to accommodate

Human Rights and the Duty to Accommodate - Q&A

March 18, 2014 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Accommodation rights and responsibilities under the Ontario Human Rights Code.

English

Re: Agenda items 7.(i) and 9.(vi): new comprehensive Zoning By-law, co-owned housing and communal dwellings

March 17, 2014

The OHRC provided guidance to the Township of Scugog about human rights principles relating to housing, as they considered amendments to their Zoning Bylaw relating to co-owned housing geared toward older Ontarians and people with disabilities. Following input from the community and the OHRC, the Township’s decision was to not create a special category, but treat the housing the same as any other residential housing.

A policy primer: Guide to developing human rights policies and procedures

December 2013 - The purpose of this guide is to provide organizations with some practical help for developing effective and fair ways to prevent human rights infringements, and for responding to human rights issues such as harassment, discrimination and accommodation needs. Employers, landlords and service providers all have an obligation to make sure that human rights are respected, and can all benefit from the information provided in this publication.

Re: Student housing can benefit a neighbourhood, Feb. 19

February 21, 2014 – Thank you for pointing out that “student housing can benefit a neighbourhood.” The points you make about not applying different rules for students, and the need to focus on the character of a building instead of potential tenants, echo the human rights messages we have been sending across Ontario. Everyone – including students – has human rights in housing. Making decisions based on the “perceived desirability of the people who might want to live there” is not the way to build healthy, welcoming communities.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

Discrimination fondée sur les troubles mentaux et les dépendances - Information à l’intention des fournisseurs de logements (fiche)

Juin 2014 - Les personnes ayant des troubles mentaux ou des dépendances réagissent de différentes manières à leur handicap et aux obstacles. Les handicaps sont souvent « invisibles » et épisodiques, dans la mesure où les gens alternent parfois entre des périodes de bien-être et de maladie. Toutes les personnes handicapées ont le même droit à l’égalité des chances aux termes du Code, que leur handicap soit visible ou non. Les personnes qui ont des troubles mentaux ou des dépendances et sont aussi visées par d’autres motifs de discrimination interdits aux termes du Code (comme le sexe, la race ou l’âge) peuvent être nettement désavantagées lorsqu’elles essaient de louer ou de conserver un logement. Des stéréotypes fondés sur une combinaison de ces identités peuvent désavantager ces personnes de manière tout à fait unique.

Délégation devant le Comité de planification et de gestion de la croissance de Toronto, 29 mai 2014 - Distances de séparation minimales

Mai 29, 2014

Objet : Rapport PG 33.2, « Amendments for all Zoning By-laws Group Home Separation and Occupant Numbers » (Modifications aux règlements de zonage relatifs aux foyers de groupe - séparation et nombre d'occupants)

Objet : Rapport no 14-29, approche recommandée à l'égard de l'autorisation des logements locatifs

Mai 2, 2014

Je vous écris pour vous exprimer mon appui aux mesures que recommande le Rapport no 14-29 à la ville de Guelph, visant à utiliser les règlements existants pour régler toute question liée aux biens-fonds au lieu de mettre en place un système de délivrance de permis pour les logements locatifs. Un système de délivrance de permis de logement locatif peut être un outil judicieux s'il se concentre sur le Code du bâtiment, le Code de prévention des incendies et les normes de santé et sécurité. Toutefois, il ne constitue pas une option adéquate pour gérer les actions de personnes qui peuvent vivre dans les logements concernés. C'est la raison pour laquelle nous appuyons la recommandation du rapport qui vise à étendre les programmes existants afin de cibler les domaines de problèmes réels, sans ajouter de coûts supplémentaires aux locataires de la ville.

Objet : Points de l'ordre du jour 7.(i) et 9.(vi) : Nouveau règlement de zonage détaillé, logements en copropriété et habitations communales

Mars 17, 2014

La CODP a prodigué des conseils au canton de Scugog au sujet des principes de droits de la personne relatifs au logement, lorsque le canton envisageait de modifier son règlement de zonage à l'égard des logements en copropriété destinés aux personnes handicapées et aux personnes âgées. Après avoir reçu les commentaires du public et de la CODP, le canton a décidé de ne pas créer de catégorie spéciale, mais de traiter les logements en question comme n'importe quel autre logement résidentiel.

Une introduction à la politique: Guide d’élaboration des politiques et procédures en matière de droits de la personne

Août 2013 - Ce guide vise à faciliter l’élaboration de solutions efficaces et équitables pour prévenir les atteintes aux droits de la personne et pour y faire face lorsqu’elles surviennent, qu’il s’agisse de harcèlement, de discrimination ou d’une mesure d’adaptation inexistante ou inadéquate. Employeurs, locateurs et fournisseurs de services ont tous l’obligation de s’assurer du respect des droits de la personne, et peuvent tous tirer parti des renseignements figurant dans ce document.

Objet : Les logements pour étudiants peuvent être avantageux pour un quartier, 19 février

Le 21 février 2014 – Nous vous remercions d'avoir souligné le fait que les logements pour étudiants peuvent être avantageux pour un quartier. Vos arguments concernant l'importance de ne pas appliquer des règles différentes pour les étudiants et le besoin de mettre l'accent sur la « personnalité » d'un bâtiment plutôt que sur ses locataires possibles font écho aux messages de promotion des droits de la personne que nous véhiculons dans tout l'Ontario. Tout le monde – y compris les étudiants – a des droits de la personne protégés en matière de logement. Prendre des décisions fondées sur la « désirabilité perçue des personnes qui seraient intéressées à vivre là » n'est certainement pas une approche judicieuse pour établir des collectivités saines et accueillantes.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement