Language selector

accommodation (housing)

Human Rights and rental housing in Ontario: Background paper

March 2007 - While the Code protects against discrimination in a broad range of situations relating to housing, this Paper will focus on residential tenancies, or rental housing arrangements. Housing studies indicate that those who live in rental housing are persons, typically, who have lower incomes and who are disproportionately vulnerable to discrimination and therefore identified by the Code. This Paper is intended to provide an overview of the social and legal context for understanding the human rights issues in the area of rental housing. The Commission sees this Paper as the background for a broad exploration of human rights issues in the area of rental housing.

Consultation paper: Human rights and rental housing in Ontario

March 2007 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission (the Commission) is soliciting your views on a range of human rights issues in rental housing. The Background Paper contains a detailed discussion of these issues and provides social and legal context. It also provides some information about the matters that are of greatest concern to the Commission. This Consultation Paper focuses on the major areas on which input is being sought.

Racism and racial discrimination: Organizational responsibility

2005 - Employers, unions, educational facilities, service providers and other organizations covered by the Ontario Human Rights Code (the “Code”) are responsible for ensuring that their environments are free from racial discrimination and harassment. This means not just responding when issues of discrimination or harassment arise, but also taking proactive measures to monitor for and prevent their occurrence.

Racial harassment and poisoned environments (fact sheet)

2005 - All Ontarians have the right to be free from harassment in the workplace or in housing accommodation because of, among other things, race, colour, ancestry, place of origin, ethnic origin, citizenship and creed. While the Ontario Human Rights Code (the “Code”) doesn’t explicitly prohibit harassment in the areas of services, goods and facilities, contracts or membership in trade and vocational associations, the Commission will treat racial harassment in such situations as a form of discrimination and therefore a breach of the Code.

Paying the price: The human cost of racial profiling

October 2003 - The Report begins with a brief explanation and definition of racial profiling. In addition, the Report explains the human cost of racial profiling on the individuals, families and communities that experience it. It details the detrimental impact that profiling is having on societal institutions such as the education system, law enforcement agencies, service providers and so forth. It also outlines the business case against profiling – in essence the economic loss sustained as a result of racial profiling.

How far does the duty to accommodate go? (fact sheet)

2000 - Business inconvenience, resentment or hostility from other co-workers, the operation of collective agreements and customer "preferences" cannot be considered in the accommodation process. When a person with a disability needs supports in order to work, use a service or access housing, the employer, service provider or landlord has a duty to provide these supports. There are limits to this duty, and these limits are called undue hardship.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

Document de consultation : Les droits de la personne et les logements locatifs en Ontario

Mars 2007 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (la Commission) sollicite votre point de vue sur un éventail de questions relatives aux droits de la personne en matière de logements locatifs. Le document de référence contient une analyse détaillée de ces questions et fournit le contexte social et juridique. Il donne aussi certains renseignements sur les sujets qui préoccupent beaucoup la Commission. Le présent Document de consultation met en évidence les aspects importants au sujet desquels une contribution est sollicitée.

Racisme et la Discrimination Raciale - Responsabilité de l'organisation

2005 - Il incombe aux employeurs, aux syndicats, aux fournisseurs de services ainsi qu’aux autres types d’organisations visées par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le « Code ») de veiller à ce que leur milieu soit exempt de harcèlement et de discrimination. Cela signifie non seulement réagir aux problèmes de discrimination ou de harcèlement qui surviennent, mais également adopter des mesures proactives pour surveiller et prévenir leur présence.

Harcèlement racial et atmosphères empoisonnées (fiche)

2005 - Les Ontariens et Ontariennes ont le droit d’être à l’abri de tout harcèlement au travail ou à domicile pour des raisons fondées entre autres sur la race, la couleur, l’ascendance, le lieu d’origine, l’origine ethnique, la citoyenneté et la croyance. Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le « Code ») ne renferme aucune disposition explicite sur le harcèlement dans les domaines des services, des biens ou des installations, des contrats et de l’appartenance à un syndicat ou à une association commerciale ou professionnelle. Cependant, la Commission traitera le harcèlement racial dans ce type de situation comme une forme de discrimination et, par conséquent, comme une infraction au Code.

Un prix trop élevé : Les coûts humains du profilage racial

Octobre 2003 - Le rapport s'ouvre sur un bref exposé du profilage racial qui comprend sa définition. On y commente ensuite les coûts humains de cette pratique pour les personnes, les familles et les communautés qui en sont victimes. Suit l'examen détaillé des répercussions néfastes du profilage dans des secteurs institutionnels tels que le système d'éducation, les organismes chargés du maintien de l'ordre et les prestataires de services. Puis on formule des arguments qui militent contre le profilage racial sous l'angle de la pure rentabilité, c'est à dire qu'ils sont axés essentiellement sur les pertes économiques ainsi occasionnées.

La discrimination fondée sur l'âge et le logement (fiche)

2002 - Aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario, les personnes âgées ont le droit d'être à l'abri de la discrimination en matière de logement. Ce droit s'applique à la location, à l'éviction, aux règles et règlements régissant les immeubles, aux réparations et à l'utilisation des services et des installations. Le logement comprend toute une gamme de modes d'hébergement, y compris les logements locatifs, les condominiums, les maisons de retraite et les établissements de soins.

Jusqu'où doit aller l'obligation d'adaptation? (fiche)

2000 - Le processus d'adaptation ne peut tenir compte des inconvénients commerciaux, du ressentiment ou de l'hostilité des collègues de travail, de l'application de la convention collective ou des " préférences " des clients. Lorsqu'une personne handicapée a besoin d'aide pour faire son travail, utiliser un service ou avoir accès au logement, l'employeur, le fournisseur de services ou le locateur ont l'obligation de fournir cette aide. Cette obligation comporte des limites et ces limites ont pour nom préjudice injustifié.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement