Language selector

data collection

Coalition issues statement calling for action on Justice Tulloch’s police oversight recommendations

August 16, 2017

Toronto – Today, a coalition of community and advocacy groups, as well as the Ontario Human Rights Commission, issued a joint statement calling on the Government of Ontario and police oversight bodies to immediately implement recommendations of the Honourable Justice Michael Tulloch from his Report of the Independent Police Oversight Review. This statement was prompted by recent events that highlight several police accountability issues that require immediate action.

Deputation to the Ottawa Police Services Board on the Traffic Stop Race Data Collection Project

November 28, 2016

Thank you for the opportunity to talk about the OPS’s Traffic Stop Race Data Collection Project. My deputation will be available online this afternoon, and the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s full report with our analysis of the findings will be available on our website tomorrow. This project was based on a 2012 settlement between the Ottawa Police Services Board and the Commission, after Chad Aiken, a young Black man, filed a human rights complaint alleging racial profiling.

Report on race-based data from traffic stops by Ottawa Police Service must lead to action

October 24, 2016

Toronto – Findings from the Ottawa Police Service’s Race Data and Traffic Stops in Ottawa report released today challenge all policing institutions to acknowledge the systemic nature of racial profiling, examine their practices and take action to address racial discrimination.

Letter to MCSCS regarding data on the use of segregation

June 15, 2016 - Dear Minister Orazietti, Congratulations on your appointment as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.  The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is looking forward to working closely with you, especially as you continue to review the use of segregation within provincial jails, as well as the treatment of immigration detainees held in provincial custody.

To Children’s Aid Societies in Ontario re: Request for disaggregated data regarding children and youth in Ontario’s child welfare system

February 24, 2016

By way of introduction, I am the Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC). On December 16, 2015, the OHRC announced that it will use its mandate under the Ontario Human Right Code (Code) to examine the overrepresentation of Indigenous and racialized children and youth in the child welfare system.

By the Numbers: A statistical profile of people with mental health and addiction disabilities in Ontario

October 2015 - This report highlights the unique disadvantages that people with mental health and addiction disabilities experience in different social and economic areas. Showing these disadvantages can help policy makers, government, researchers, disability groups and service providers in their work to protect the human rights of people with disabilities, including people with mental health or addiction disabilities. The OHRC hopes that this report will be used as a tool to promote change to close these gaps.

Opinion Editorial: Political will needed to end carding

May 23, 2015

Editor, The Toronto Star

This week Mark Saunders was sworn in as Chief of the Toronto Police Service. He arrived amid a controversy that marred his predecessor’s final days and one that refuses to go away – the police procedure commonly known as “carding.” As Chief Saunders starts down this new road he has a choice – to hear the voices of the community and work to end racial profiling or to allow a deeply troubling practice to continue.

Message from Interim Chief Commissioner Ruth Goba – Global Accessibility Awareness Day

May 21, 2015
Toronto2015: Let’s build an accessibility legacy

The upcoming Pan Am and Parapan Am Games are an exciting opportunity to showcase the many ways Ontario is a world leader. One notable accomplishment should be our ability to welcome and include guests and residents of all backgrounds and abilities. The Games offer a good opportunity to raise awareness about what Ontario and its municipalities are doing to promote and enhance accessibility.

OHRC remarks to the Ontario Legislative Standing Committee on Social Policy regarding Bill 13 and Bill 14

I am here today on behalf of the Ontario Human Rights Commission to indicate our general support for this proposed legislation.Let there be no doubt. Bullying is a critical human rights matter. Ontario’s Human Rights Code is Ontario’s highest law. All schools, including public, Catholic and private, have a legal duty to provide students with an educational environment free from harassment and other forms of discrimination because of their race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sexual orientation, age, marital status, family status or disability and sex including gender identity.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - data collection

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

collecte de données

Une coalition fait une déclaration appelant à la mise en œuvre des recommandations du juge Tulloch touchant les organismes de surveillance de la police

Août 16, 2017

TORONTO – Aujourd’hui, une coalition de groupes communautaires et de groupes de défense des droits et intérêts, ainsi que la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, ont publié une déclaration conjointe appelant le gouvernement de l’Ontario et les organismes de surveillance de la police à mettre immédiatement en œuvre les recommandations formulées par l’honorable juge Michael Tulloch dans le cadre de son Examen indépendant des organismes de surveillance de la police. Cette déclaration fait suite à des événements récents ayant mis en lumière plusieurs problèmes touchant la surveillance de la police et nécessitant une intervention immédiate.

Délégation à la Commission de services policiers d’Ottawa sur le Projet de collecte de données fondées sur la race aux contrôles routiers

Novembre 28, 2016

Merci de m’avoir donné l’occasion de parler du Projet de collecte de données fondées sur la race aux contrôles routiers du Service de police d’Ottawa (SPO). Ma délégation sera publiée en ligne cet après-midi, tandis que le rapport complet de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, qui inclut une analyse des conclusions du rapport du SPO, sera publié sur notre site Web demain. Ce projet était le fruit d’une entente de règlement conclue en 2012 par la Commission de services policiers d’Ottawa et la CODP après que Chad Aiken, un jeune homme noir, a déposé une plainte relative aux droits de la personne pour profilage racial.

Le dépôt du rapport du Service de police d’Ottawa sur les données fondées sur la race associées aux contrôles routiers effectués doit mener à des mesures concrètes

Octobre 24, 2016

 

Toronto – Les conclusions du rapport Données sur la race et contrôles routiers à Ottawa​ du Service de police d’Ottawa, qui a été rendu public aujourd’hui, mettent tous les organismes de maintien de l’ordre au défi de reconnaître la nature systémique du profilage racial, d’examiner leurs propres pratiques et de prendre des mesures pour cesser la discrimination raciale.

Mémoire complémentaire de la CODP au ministère de la MSCSC à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Mémoire complémentaire de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Octobre 2016

Lettre à l’attention du MSCSC concernant les données sur le recours au placement en isolement

Le 15 juin 2016, Je vous adresse mes félicitations pour votre nomination comme ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) se réjouit à l’idée de collaborer étroitement avec vous, d’autant plus que vous poursuivez l’examen du recours au placement en isolement au sein des prisons provinciales, ainsi que du traitement dans les établissements provinciaux des personnes détenues en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (personnes détenues en vertu de la LIPR).

En quelques chiffres : Profil statistique des personnes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale et des dépendances en Ontario

Octobre 2015 - Le présent rapport souligne les désavantages particuliers que subissent les personnes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale et des dépendances dans différents secteurs socioéconomiques. Le fait de mettre en avant ces désavantages peut aider les responsables des politiques, le gouvernement, les chercheurs, les groupes de défense des intérêts des personnes ayant une incapacité et les fournisseurs de services dans le cadre de leur action visant à protéger les droits des personnes ayant une incapacité, notamment des personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux ou des dépendances. La CODP espère que ce rapport servira d’outil de promotion du changement pour combler ces lacunes.

Éditorial : L’éradication de la pratique du fichage nécessite une volonté politique

Mai 23, 2015

Rédacteur en chef, The Toronto Star

Cette semaine, Mark Saunders a prêté serment comme chef du Service de police de Toronto. Son entrée en fonction s’est déroulée au milieu d’une controverse qui avait entachée les derniers jours de son prédécesseur et qui refuse de disparaître, soit la procédure policière connue communément sous le nom de « fichage ». Le chef Saunders a le choix, alors qu’il prend ses fonctions, d’écouter les voix qui se font entendre dans la communauté et d’œuvrer pour mettre fin au profilage racial, ou de permettre à une pratique très inquiétante de perdurer.

Observations de la CODP au Comité permanent de la politique sociale de l’Assemblé législative au sujet du projet de loi 13 et du projet de loi 14

Je suis ici aujourd’hui au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne pour exprimer notre appui général aux mesures législatives proposées. Qu’il n’y ait aucun doute à ce sujet. L’intimidation est une question cruciale en matière de droits de la personne. Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario est la loi suprême de la province. Toutes les écoles, qu’il s’agisse des écoles publiques, catholiques ou privées, ont l’obligation juridique d’offrir aux élèves un milieu exempt de harcèlement et de toute autre forme de discrimination en raison de la race, de l’ascendance, du lieu d’origine, de la couleur, de l’origine ethnique, de la citoyenneté, de la croyance, de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’âge, de l’état matrimonial, de l’état familial ou d’un handicap ainsi que du sexe, ce qui comprend l’identité de genre.

La police d’Ottawa accepte de recueillir des données fondées sur la race

Mai 4, 2012

Toronto - À la suite d'un règlement conclu entre la Commission des services de police d'Ottawa et la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), le Service de police d'Ottawa commencera à recueillir des données fondées sur la race au sujet des contrôles routiers effectués par les agents du Service de police d'Ottawa.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - collecte de données