Language selector

Ontario Human Rights Code

5. The Ontario Human Rights Code

From: Policy on female genital mutilation (FGM)

The Ontario Human Rights Code recognizes the inherent worth and dignity of every person in Ontario. The Preamble makes particular reference to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the inherent principles of dignity and equal and inalienable rights of the person. The creation of a society in which all persons can live and work in an environment that is free from discrimination is central to the policy objectives of the OHRC by virtue of the Code.

Relevant Ontario Human Rights Code provisions

From: Policy on requiring a driver's licence as a condition of employment

Section 5

(1) Every person has a right to equal treatment with respect to employment without discrimination because of race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sex, sexual orientation, age, record of offences, marital status or disability.

Section 10

"Record of offences" means a conviction for,

Comment of the Ontario Human Rights Commission on Every Door is the Right Door: Towards a 10-Year Mental Health and Addictions Strategy - Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

August 2009 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission, (the “Commission”) commends the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (“Ministry”) for its work on an improved strategy to meet the needs of Ontarians with mental illnesses and addictions. The Commission is pleased to provide its input on this discussion paper, particularly with respect to the sections on Stigma and Healthy Communities.

Family status and the Ontario Human Rights Code (fact sheet)

2007 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission has interpreted the ground of family status as protecting a range of families and familial relationships from discrimination. It protects parents from being discriminated against because they have children; it also protects adult children who experience discrimination because they are caring for their aging parents. It protects non-biological parent and child relationships, such as those formed through adoption, fostering, and step-parenting, as well as lone parent families, and those headed by LGBT persons.

Consultation report: Strengthening Ontario's Human Rights System - What We Heard

October 2005 - There are many who believe that Ontario’s human rights system must be strengthened in order to achieve the vision set out in the Code of a society in which the dignity of all is recognized, and all can be full members of the community. The Ontario Human Rights Commission (“OHRC”) believes that, while much has been achieved, there is much more that can be done.

The opportunity to succeed: Achieving barrier-free education for students with disabilities

2003 - The Report provides an in-depth picture of human rights issues relating to disability and education in the province of Ontario. It outlines “Actions Required” of key players in the education system to address the practices and attitudes that limit the ability of students with disabilities to access education equally. It also includes specific Commission commitments which are steps that the Commission will take to help combat discrimination against students with disabilities. The Commission’s analysis and recommendations are informed by the comprehensive input received from stakeholders throughout the course of the consultation.

Discussion paper: Human rights issues in insurance

October 1999 - The objective of the Paper is twofold: to promote dialogue on protecting human rights in the insurance industry and to examine alternatives to current practices by obtaining input from experts, regulators and consumers. Access to insurance in our society raises significant issues about distributive justice and fairness in the public sphere, issues that have received scant attention in Canada and in Ontario where rate setting has traditionally been viewed as a private matter.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ontario Human Rights Code

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario

5. Le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario

From: Politique sur la mutilation genitale feminine

Le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario reconnaît la dignité et la valeur de toute personne résidant en Ontario. Le préambule du Code fait directement référence à la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme et aux principes de la dignité inhérente à tous les membres de la famille humaine et de leurs droits égaux et inaliénables. La création d'une société dont l'ensemble des membres peuvent vivre et travailler dans un milieu libre de toute discrimination est au cœur des objectifs de la politique de la Commission en vertu du Code.

Dispositions pertinentes du Code des droits de la personne del'Ontario

From: Politique concernant les renseignements médicaux liés à l'emploi

Article 17

(1) Ne constitue pas une atteinte à un droit d’une personne reconnu dans la présente loi le fait que cette personne est incapable, à cause d’un handicap, de s’acquitter des obligations ou de satisfaire aux exigences essentielles inhérentes à l’exercice de ce droit.

Dispositions pertinentes du Code des droits de la personne de l’ontario

From: Politique concernant le permis de conduire comme condition d'emploi

Article 5

(1) Toute personne a droit à un traitement égal en matière d'emploi, sans discrimination fondée sur la race, l'ascendance, le lieu d'origine, la couleur, l'origine ethnique, la citoyenneté, la croyance, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, l'âge, l'existence d'un casier judiciaire, l'état matrimonial, l'état familial ou un handicap.

Article 10

Relevé d'une condamnation pour:

Commentaires de la Commission Ontarienne des droits de la personne sur Chaque porte est la bonne porte : Vers une stratégie décennale de santé mentale et de luttle contre les dépendances - Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée

Août 2009 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (la Commission) félicite le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (le Ministère) d’avoir mis au point une meilleure stratégie pour répondre aux besoins des Ontariens qui vivent des problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendance. La Commission a le plaisir de faire part de ses commentaires sur ce document de travail, notamment sur les parties traitant des préjugés et des communautés en santé.

L’état familial et le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (fiche)

2007 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne a interprété le motif de l’état familial comme un moyen de protéger toute une gamme de familles et de relations familiales contre la discrimination. Le motif protège les parents contre la discrimination fondée sur le fait qu’ils ont des enfants; il protège également les enfants adultes qui sont victimes de discrimination parce qu’ils s’occupent de leurs parents vieillissants. Par ailleurs, le motif protège les relations entre enfants et parents non biologiques comme celles qui sont le résultat de l’adoption, de l’accueil et des familles reconstituées, ainsi que les familles monoparentales et celles dirigées par des personnes LGBT.

Rapport de la consultation: Le renforcement du système ontarien de protection des droits de la personne - Ce que nous avons entendu

Octobre 2005 - Nombreuses sont les personnes qui jugent indispensable de renforcer notre système provincial des droits de la personne en vue de réaliser la vision énoncée dans le Code d’une société qui reconnaisse la dignité et la valeur de toute personne et où toute personne se sente partie intégrante de la collectivité. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (« la Commission ») estime que, malgré tout ce qui a été accompli jusqu’à ce jour, il y aurait en effet moyen de faire encore bien davantage.

Une chance de réussir : Éliminer les obstacles à l'éducation pour les personnes handicapées (Rapport de consultation)

2003 - Le présent rapport fait un bilan détaillé des questions touchant les droits de la personne en ce qui concerne le handicap et l’éducation en Ontario. Il suggère aux principaux intervenants du système d’éducation des « mesures à prendre » pour rectifier les pratiques et les attitudes qui limitent l’accès égal à l’éducation des élèves et étudiants handicapés. Il énonce également des engagements précis de la part de la Commission, c’est-à-dire des mesures que celle-ci entend prendre pour lutter contre la discrimination que subissent les élèves et étudiants handicapés. Les observations approfondies dont les intervenants ont fait part tout au long des consultations ont façonné l’analyse et les recommandations de la Commission.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario