Language selector

Ontario Human Rights Code

Letter to TCDSB on including gender identity, gender expression, family status and marital status in the TCDSB’s Code of Conduct

September 17, 2019

The OHRC is aware that the Toronto Catholic District School Board (TCDSB) is considering amending its Code of Conduct to specifically include gender identity, gender expression, family status and marital status as grounds upon which members of the TCDSB community cannot be treated unfairly. Our understanding is that this issue is being specifically considered by the Catholic Education and Living our Catholic Values Sub-committee on September 25, 2019.

OHRC and MERC letter to Solicitor General Jones about Ontario’s investment in corrections

July 7, 2020

The OHRC and MERC are encouraged by the government’s announcement that more than $500 million will be invested in Ontario’s correctional system over the next five years, and urge you to allocate this investment in a way that directly improves the on-the-ground conditions prisoners and front-line staff face every day in Ontario.

OHRC letter to Sudbury landlords who refuse to rent housing to people on ODSP and Ontario Works without direct payment agreements

July 6, 2020

Given the vulnerability of tenants during the COVID-19 pandemic, the OHRC wants to remind the Greater Sudbury Landlord Association and the City of Greater Sudbury as a housing service manager and OW administrator, of their human rights obligations relating to rental housing.

OHRC submission to the Ministry of Health on the proposed amendments to Ontario Regulation 329/04 made under the Personal Health Information Protection Act

June 29, 2020

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is responding to the notice of proposed amendments to Ontario Regulation 329/04 made under the Personal Health Information Protection Act (PHIPA). Among other things, the proposed amendments prescribe elements for collecting, using and reporting personal health information collected through the electronic health record.

Proposed amendments to Ontario Regulation 569 made under the Health Protection and Promotion Act

June 19, 2020

The OHRC welcomes the proposed amendment to Ontario Regulation 569 made under the Health Protection and Promotion Act (HPPA) that would require collecting information on race, income level, language and household size for people who test positive for a novel coronavirus, including COVID-19. The OHRC recommends the ministry consider expanding the required collection of information to include other vulnerable populations identified in Ontario’s Human Rights Code.

Letter to Minister Lecce on the Peel District School Board Review

June 5, 2020

I am writing on behalf of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) to acknowledge the steps the Ministry of Education (Ministry) has taken on its review of the Peel District School Board (PDSB) in response to growing concerns about systemic discrimination, anti-Black racism, discord among senior leadership, and issues of governance. The OHRC is very troubled by the review’s findings, and the significant human rights issues raised in the way that the PDSB manages issues related to Black students. 

Letter to Minister Christine Elliott re: COVID-19 Action Plan for Vulnerable People

June 4, 2020

The OHRC welcomes the April 23 release of the government’s COVID-19 Action Plan for Vulnerable People (the Plan) as a first step toward addressing the disproportionate impact that the pandemic is having on Ontario’s most vulnerable people. However, to ensure that the human rights of vulnerable people are protected in a way that is consistent with Ontario’s Human Rights Code, the Plan requires expanded scope and detail, which must be done in consultation with vulnerable groups and human rights experts.

Letter to President/CEO of Ontario Health re: COVID-19 triage protocol, data collection, essential support persons

June 4, 2020

Over the last two months, the OHRC has met with a range of stakeholders representing racialized communities, people experiencing poverty, people with disabilities, older people and other Code-protected groups. These groups are concerned that certain aspects in the management of the COVID-19 pandemic are having a negative impact on their human rights, and have raised four immediate concerns

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ontario Human Rights Code

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP Instagram logo Link to OHRC Instagram page

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario

Lettre de la CODP et du CREEM au solliciteur général Jones au sujet de l'investissement de l'Ontario dans les services correctionnels

Juillet 7, 2020

La CODP et le CREEM estiment que l’annonce du gouvernement selon laquelle plus de 500 millions de dollars seront investis dans le système correctionnel de l’Ontario au cours des cinq prochaines années est un signe encourageant, et vous exhortent à affecter cet investissement de manière à améliorer directement les conditions vécues chaque jour sur le terrain par les détenus et le personnel de première ligne en Ontario.

Lettre de la CODP aux locateurs de Sudbury qui refusent de louer des logements aux personnes qui reçoivent des prestations du POSPH et du programme Ontario au travail sans entente de versements directs

Juillet 6, 2020

Face à la vulnérabilité des locataires pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, la CODP tient à rappeler à la Greater Sudbury Landlord Association et à la ville du grand Sudbury, en qualité de gestionnaire des services de logement et d’administrateur du programme Ontario au travail, leurs obligations de respect des droits de la personne dans le domaine du logement locatif.

Mémoire de la CODP au ministère de la Santé sur les modifications proposées au Règlement de l’Ontario 329/04 pris en vertu de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé

Juin 29, 2020

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) répond à l’avis de modifications proposées au Règlement de l’Ontario 329/04 pris en vertu de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé. Entre autres, les modifications proposées prescrivent des éléments de données pour la collecte, l’utilisation et l’inclusion dans des rapports de renseignements personnels sur la santé recueillis du dossier de santé électronique.

Modifications proposées au Règlement de l’Ontario 569 pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé

Juin 19, 2020

La CODP est ravie des modifications proposées au Règlement de l’Ontario 569, pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, qui exigeraient la collecte de renseignements sur la race, le revenu, la langue et la taille du ménage chez les personnes qui reçoivent un résultat positif au test de dépistage d'un nouveau coronavirus, y compris la COVID-19. La CODP recommande au ministère d’étendre la collecte obligatoire de renseignements à d’autres populations vulnérables identifiées dans le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.

Lettre à l’honorable Stephen Lecce sur l’examen du Peel District School Board

Juin 5, 2020

Au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), je prends acte des mesures prises par le ministère de l’Éducation (ci-après le « ministère ») dans le cadre de son examen du Peel District School Board (PDSB) faisant suite aux préoccupations croissantes liées à la discrimination systémique, au racisme envers les Noirs, à la discorde au sein de la haute direction et aux problèmes de gouvernance. La CODP est extrêmement troublée par les conclusions du rapport et par les importantes questions de droits de la personne que soulève la gestion des enjeux relatifs aux élèves noirs par le PDSB. 

Lettre adressée aux ministres Christine Elliott et Todd Smith concernant le Plan d’action contre la COVID-19 pour les personnes vulnérables

Juin 4, 2020

La CODP salue le Plan d’action contre la COVID-19 pour les personnes vulnérables (ci-après, le « Plan »), publié par le gouvernement le 23 avril, et y voit une première réponse apportée aux répercussions disproportionnées de la pandémie sur les Ontariennes et les Ontariens les plus vulnérables. Cependant, pour garantir la protection des droits des personnes vulnérables conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, il est nécessaire de préciser le Plan et d’élargir sa portée en concertation avec les membres des groupes vulnérables et les spécialistes des droits de la personne.

Lettre adressée à président-directeur général concernant le protocole de triage, la collecte de données et les personnes de soutien essentielles dans le cadre de la COVID-19

Juin 4, 2020

Ces deux derniers mois, la CODP a rencontré plusieurs représentants des communautés racialisées, des personnes démunies, des personnes handicapées, des aînés et d’autres groupes protégés par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (ci-après, le « Code »). Craignant que certains aspects de la gestion de la pandémie de COVID-19 ne portent atteinte à leurs droits, ils ont exprimé quatre préoccupations immédiates. 

Une décision du Tribunal des droits de la personne élimine un obstacle à l’emploi pour les réfugiés

Mai 19, 2020

Dans une décision importante, le Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (TDPO) a conclu que des réfugiés au sens de la Convention ne devraient pas se heurter à des obstacles discriminatoires en matière d’accès à l’emploi et qu’ils devraient pouvoir contribuer pleinement à la société ontarienne.

La CODP fait participer les éducateurs et les professionnels à son enquête Le droit de lire

Mai 1, 2020

TORONTO – Aujourd’hui, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a lancé un sondage à l’intention des éducateurs et d’autres professionnels qui ont de l’expérience avec les troubles de lecture, dans le cadre de son enquête sur des questions liées aux droits de la personne qui touchent les élèves ayant des troubles de lecture dans le système d’éducation publique de l’Ontario.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario