Language selector

systemic

The existence of racial profiling

From: Paying the price: The human cost of racial profiling

The Commission has consistently stated that the purpose of its racial profiling inquiry is not to prove or disprove the existence of racial profiling. It is the Commission’s view that previous inquiries have considered this and have found that it does occur.

Moreover, as discussed above, racial profiling is a form of racial stereotyping. As racial stereotyping and discrimination exists in society, it also exists in institutions such as law enforcement agencies, the education system, the criminal justice system etc., which are a microcosm of broader society.

VIII. Discrimination

From: The Ontario Safe Schools Act: School discipline and discrimination

Nearly all the interviewees identified discrimination – direct and systemic – as the main reason why the application of discipline in schools has a disproportionate impact on racial minority students and students with disabilities. Some interviewees also pointed out that there are multiple and intersecting grounds of discrimination, including race, disability, poverty and immigrant/refugee status.

A. General Perceptions

1. Black Students

Many Black students who are suspended or expelled believe that it is because of discrimination:

Human Rights settlement reached with Ministry of Education on Safe Schools - Terms of settlement

WHEREAS on July 7, 2005, the OHRC initiated a complaint, number GKEA-6DUH6W, pursuant to subsection 32(2) of the Human Rights Code in the public interest and on behalf of racialized students and students with disabilities alleging that the application of the safe schools provisions of the Education Act and the Ministry’s and school boards’ policies on discipline are having a disproportionate impact on racial minority students and students with disabilities. NOW THEREFORE, the Parties agree to settle these matters as follows:

CMARD Booklet: Call for coalition of municipalities against racism and racial discrimination

2006 - The Canadian Commission for UNESCO is inviting municipalities from across Canada to join a Canadian Coalition of Municipalities Against Racism and Discrimination and be part of a larger international coalition being promoted by UNESCO. This booklet provides information that will be useful in understanding some of the important details of this Coalition.

Backgrounder - Commission settles complaints with the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board

October 2005 - The Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board (the “Board’) agrees that, when teachers or school administrators are alleged to have made inappropriate remark(s) toward a student regarding that student's race, colour, ethnic origin, place of origin, creed, or disability, or other grounds as protected by the Ontario Human Rights Code , or to have purposefully failed to appropriately accommodate the needs of disabled students, the Board shall investigate the allegations and implement measures, where appropriate, to ensure accountability. Such measures shall include, in appropriate circumstances, discipline up to and including termination.

Racism and racial discrimination: Systemic discrimination (fact sheet)

2005 - Racial discrimination can result from individual behaviour as well as because of the unintended and often unconscious consequences of a discriminatory system. This is known as systemic discrimination. Systemic discrimination can be described as patterns of behaviour, policies or practices that are part of the structures of an organization, and which create or perpetuate disadvantage for racialized persons.

The Ontario Safe Schools Act: School discipline and discrimination

July 2003 - The main purpose of this report is to examine whether the Ontario Safe Schools Act and Regulations and the school board policies on discipline, known by some as “zero tolerance” policies, are having a disproportionate impact on racial minority students and students with disabilities. Advocates of zero tolerance argue that the policies are colour blind and fair because all the students who commit the same offence will be treated the same. Opponents point to other jurisdictions where there is data showing that suspensions and expulsions have a disproportionate impact on Black and other racial minority students and students with disabilities.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - systemic

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

systémique

Entente en matière de droits de la personne conclue avec le ministère de l'éducation sur la sécurité dans les écoles : Modalités de l’entente

ATTENDU QUE le 7 juillet 2005, la CODP a déposé une plainte, numéro GKEA-6DUH6W, en vertu du paragraphe 32(2) du Code des droits de la personne dans l’intérêt public et au nom des élèves racialisés et des élèves handicapés soutenant que l’application des dispositions visant la sécurité dans les écoles de la Loi sur l'éducation et les politiques du Ministère et des conseils scolaires quant à la discipline ont une incidence démesurée sur les élèves des minorités raciales et les élèves handicapés. PAR CONSÉQUENT, les parties s’entendent sur les points suivants :

Livret de CMARD: Appel à une Coalition des municipalités contre le racisme et la discrimination

2006 - La Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO invite les municipalités du Canada à se joindre à la coalition des municipalités contre le racisme et la discrimination, et à participer ainsi à une vaste coalition internationale que l’UNESCO promeut. La présente brochure contient des renseignements qui vous aideront à comprendre des aspects importants de la coalition.

Fiche de renseignements: La Commission régles les plainte portées contre le Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board

Octobre 2005 - Lorsque des enseignants ou des administrateurs scolaires sont présumés avoir adressé à un élève des remarques déplacées, fondées sur la race, la couleur, l’origine ethnique, le lieu d’origine, la croyance, le handicap de cet élève ou d’autres motifs protégés par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, ou d’avoir intentionnellement omis de prendre des mesures d’adaptation aux besoins d’élèves handicapés, le Dufferin-Peel Catholic School Board (le « Conseil scolaire ») s’engage à mener des enquêtes sur les allégations et à mettre en œuvre des mesures, s’il y a lieu, pour assurer la responsabilisation. Ces mesures varient, selon les circonstances, entre une peine disciplinaire et le licenciement.

Racisme et la Discrimination Raciale - Discrimination systémique (fiche)

2005 - La discrimination raciale marque des comportements individuels, mais elle peut également découler des conséquences involontaires et souvent inconscientes d’un système discriminatoire. C’est ce que l’on appelle discrimination systémique. La discrimination systémique découle de politiques, pratiques et comportements qui font partie des structures sociales et administratives de l’organisation et dont l’ensemble crée ou perpétue une situation désavantageuse pour les personnes racialisées.

Racisme et la discrimination raciale - Collecte de données (fiche)

2005 - Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario permet la collecte et l’analyse de données selon la race et les divers motifs énumérés à des fins reconnues par le Code, notamment pour surveiller efficacement la situation de la discrimination, identifier les barrières systémiques et les éliminer, remédier aux désavantages historiques et promouvoir une égalité réelle.

La loi sur la sécurité dans les écoles de l'ontario : Discipline et discrimination dans les écoles

Juillet 2003 - Le présent rapport a pour but principal d’examiner si la Loi sur la sécurité dans les écoles de l’Ontario et ses règlements, ainsi que les politiques des conseils scolaires en matière de discipline, qualifiées par certains de politiques de « tolérance zéro », ont un effet disproportionné sur les élèves issus de minorités raciales et les élèves handicapés. Ceux qui préconisent la tolérance zéro prétendent que les politiques ne tiennent pas compte des considérations raciales et sont équitables parce que tous les élèves qui commettent la même infraction seront traités de la même manière. Ceux qui s’opposent à la tolérance zéro renvoient à d’autres ressorts où il existe des données indiquant que les suspensions et renvois ont un effet disproportionné sur les élèves de race noire et les élèves issus d’autres minorités raciales ainsi que sur les élèves handicapés.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - systémique