Language selector

systemic

The Commission Caseload

From: Human Rights and rental housing in Ontario: Background paper

In 2004-2005, the Commission received 100 complaints relating to discrimination in housing.[51] While this number amounts to only about 4 percent of the total complaints received by the Commission during this time period, the complaints that have been filed frequently raise significant systemic issues, issues that potentially affect large numbers of people besides the actual complainant.

V. Identifying discrimination in rental housing

From: Policy on human rights and rental housing

1. Defining discrimination

The Code provides that every person has the right to be treated equally in the area of housing without discrimination because of any of the grounds set out in the Code. The purpose of anti-discrimination laws is to prevent the violation of human dignity and freedom through the imposition of disadvantage, stereotyping, or political or social prejudice.

The human rights context

From: Preliminary findings: Inquiry into assaults on Asian Canadian Anglers

The purpose of the Code, as set out in its Preamble, is the creation of a province in which there is “a climate of understanding and mutual respect for the dignity and worth of each person so that each person feels a part of the community and able to contribute fully to the development and well-being of the community and the Province.” Human rights concerns arise whenever individuals are targeted for greater scrutiny, or are the subject of negative attitudes or treatment because of their race.

Housing

From: Human rights and the family in Ontario

The ground of family status was added to the Code in 1982. Until 1986, the Code contained an exception permitting residential buildings or parts of residential buildings to be designated as adult only. Unlike in the areas of employment and services, there has been significant litigation regarding family status issues in the area of housing, particularly in the Ontario context.

Employment

From: Human rights and the family in Ontario

Employment and family often entail competing responsibilities: spouses or partners fall sick, daycare arrangements fall through, an aging parent needs help in making a transition to assisted living arrangements. For many workers, daily life involves a complicated juggling act between the demands, deadlines and responsibilities of the workplace, and the needs of their families.

VIII. Roles and responsibilities

From: The cost of caring: Report on the consultation on discrimination on the basis of family status

The ground of family status raises wide-ranging and complex issues. It is clear from this consultation that individuals with caregiving responsibilities face a range of systemic barriers to full participation in employment, housing and services. The Commission heard that families cannot, on their own, resolve all of these barriers. Addressing them will require a coordinated approach from government, employers, housing providers, service providers, and the Commission itself.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - systemic

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

systémique

V. Reconnaître la discrimination en matière de logement locatif

From: Politique concernant les droits de la personne et le logement locatif

1. Définir la discrimination

Le Code stipule que toute personne a droit à un traitement égal en matière d’occupation d’un logement, sans discrimination fondée sur l'un ou l'autre des motifs qu'il prévoit. Les lois antidiscrimination ont pour objet d’empêcher qu’il y ait atteinte à la dignité et à la liberté humaines au moyen de l’imposition de désavantages, de stéréotypes ou de préjudices politiques ou sociaux.

Le contexte en matière de droits de la personne

From: Conclusions préliminaires : Commission d'enquête sur les agressions contre des pêcheurs canadiens d'origine asiatique

L’objectif du Code, comme cela a été expliqué dans le préambule, est de parvenir à créer une province dans laquelle règne un « climat de compréhension et de respect mutuel de la dignité et de la valeur de toute personne, de façon que chacun se sente partie intégrante de la collectivité et apte à contribuer pleinement à l'avancement et au bien-être de la collectivité et de la province ». Des problèmes relatifs aux droits de la personne émergent dès que des individus font l’objet de regards insistants ou sont traités de manière désobligeante du fait de leur race.

Logement

From: Les droits de la personne et la famille en ontario

Le motif de discrimination fondé sur l’état familial a été ajouté au Code en 1982. Jusqu’à 1986, le Code contenait une exception qui permettait aux propriétaires d’édifices résidentiels de désigner ces derniers, en tout ou en partie, réservés aux adultes. Contrairement aux domaines de l’emploi et des services, celui relatif au logement a fait l’objet de nombreux litiges quant aux questions relatives à l’état familial, surtout dans le contexte ontarien.

Emploi

From: Les droits de la personne et la famille en ontario

Allier travail salarié et maternité et tenir compte des besoins des femmes enceintes au travail sont des impératifs de plus en plus pressants. Il semble aller de soi que celles qui donnent naissance à des enfants et favorisent ainsi l'ensemble de la société ne devraient pas en subir un désavantage économique ou social.

- Le juge en chef Dickson dans Brooks c. Canada Safeway Limited[67]

L’état familial et les droits de la personne au Canada

From: Les droits de la personne et la famille en ontario

La protection contre la discrimination fondée sur l’état familial est un phénomène relativement nouveau au Canada. Des dispositions législatives interdisant ce type de discrimination ont été ajoutées à un certain nombre de lois en matière de droits de la personne à la fin des années 1970 et au début des années 1980. La discrimination fondée sur l’état familial n’est pas interdite partout au Canada[25].

VIII. Rôles et responsabilités

From: Le coût de la prestation de soins: Rapport de consultation sur la discrimination fondée sur l’état familial

Le motif de l’état familial soulève des questions importantes et complexes. Cette consultation a confirmé que les personnes qui assument des responsabilités en matière de soins font face à un éventail d’obstacles systémiques sur le plan de l’emploi, du logement et des services. La Commission a appris que les familles ne peuvent par elles-mêmes enrayer tous ces obstacles. Leur élimination exigera donc un effort concerté de la part du gouvernement, des employeurs, des propriétaires de logement, des fournisseurs de services et de la Commission.

V. Emploi

From: Le coût de la prestation de soins: Rapport de consultation sur la discrimination fondée sur l’état familial

Quelles leçons pouvons-nous apprendre? Comment pouvons-nous nous diriger vers un monde différent – où le public appuie le parentage et la prestation de soins, où les hommes et les femmes assument des rôles et responsabilités équivalents et où les obligations en matière de soins ne retombent pas sur les personnes qui ont déjà des difficultés?

TCA Canada

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - systémique