Language selector

individual

Example 4 - Code right v. Charter right: Employer distributing Bibles and religious advice

From: Competing Human Rights

Employer distributing Bibles and religious advice

Here is an example of a Code right (creed) versus a Charter right (freedom of religion and expression).

encourages them to attend church meetings, gives each a Bible as a gift for Christmas and asks them if they share his opinions on a variety of matters. Employees have made it clear that they do not welcome or appreciate his comments and conduct in their workplace and that they plan to file a claim under the Ontario Human Rights Code. This could be argued as a competing rights situation because:

Correction: Toronto Police Service body–worn camera pilot project

May 27, 2015

Toronto - Several news outlets have recently quoted a Toronto Police Service (TPS) news release regarding body-worn cameras: http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

That release says, in part:

The Service has partnered with the Information & Privacy Commissioner, the Ontario Human Rights Commission, the Ministry of the Attorney General and the Toronto Police Association to develop a procedure that addresses issues of privacy, retention, and disclosure. 

This statement is not accurate.

Letter to Chief Paul Cook, Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) President

August 1, 2014

Chief Paul Cook
President, Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police

Dear Chief Cook,

On behalf of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC), I would like to congratulate the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) for its updated version of the LEARN Guideline for Police Record Checks with a clearer presumption against disclosure of non-conviction records.

The human rights context

From: Preliminary findings: Inquiry into assaults on Asian Canadian Anglers

The purpose of the Code, as set out in its Preamble, is the creation of a province in which there is “a climate of understanding and mutual respect for the dignity and worth of each person so that each person feels a part of the community and able to contribute fully to the development and well-being of the community and the Province.” Human rights concerns arise whenever individuals are targeted for greater scrutiny, or are the subject of negative attitudes or treatment because of their race.

CMARD Booklet: Call for coalition of municipalities against racism and racial discrimination

2006 - The Canadian Commission for UNESCO is inviting municipalities from across Canada to join a Canadian Coalition of Municipalities Against Racism and Discrimination and be part of a larger international coalition being promoted by UNESCO. This booklet provides information that will be useful in understanding some of the important details of this Coalition.

Subscribe to RSS - individual

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

individual

Exemple 4 - Droit protégé par le Code c. droit garanti par la Charte : Distribution de bibles et offre de conseils religieux au travail

From: Droits de la personne contradictoires

Distribution de bibles et offre de conseils religieux au travail

Voici un exemple de conflit entre un droit protégé par le Code (croyance) et un droit garanti par la Charte (liberté de religion et d’expression).

Correction: Projet pilote de cameras corporelles du service de police de Toronto

Mai 27, 2015

Toronto – Plusieurs médias d’information ont récemment cité un communiqué de presse (en anglais) du service de police de Toronto (SPT) traitant des caméras corporelles : http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

Ce communiqué de presse stipule, entre autres, que :

Le service de police a établi un partenariat avec le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, le ministère du Procureur général et la Toronto Police Association pour élaborer une procédure traitant des questions de vie privée et du maintien et de la divulgation des informations.  

 Cet énoncé n’est pas exact.

Lettre au chef Paul Cook, président de l’Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario (ACPO)

Août 1, 2014

Chef Paul Cook
Président, Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario

Monsieur,

Au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), j’aimerais féliciter l’Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario (ACPO) pour sa version mise à jour de la directive LEARN sur la vérification des dossiers de la police, qui inclut une présomption plus claire à l’encontre de la divulgation de dossiers sans lien avec une condamnation.

Le contexte en matière de droits de la personne

From: Conclusions préliminaires : Commission d'enquête sur les agressions contre des pêcheurs canadiens d'origine asiatique

L’objectif du Code, comme cela a été expliqué dans le préambule, est de parvenir à créer une province dans laquelle règne un « climat de compréhension et de respect mutuel de la dignité et de la valeur de toute personne, de façon que chacun se sente partie intégrante de la collectivité et apte à contribuer pleinement à l'avancement et au bien-être de la collectivité et de la province ». Des problèmes relatifs aux droits de la personne émergent dès que des individus font l’objet de regards insistants ou sont traités de manière désobligeante du fait de leur race.

Livret de CMARD: Appel à une Coalition des municipalités contre le racisme et la discrimination

2006 - La Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO invite les municipalités du Canada à se joindre à la coalition des municipalités contre le racisme et la discrimination, et à participer ainsi à une vaste coalition internationale que l’UNESCO promeut. La présente brochure contient des renseignements qui vous aideront à comprendre des aspects importants de la coalition.

Subscribe to RSS - individual