Language selector

harassment

Harassment is defined in subsection 10(1) of the Code as "engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome.”

Fishing without fear: Follow-up report on the Inquiry into assaults on Asian Canadian anglers

April 2009 - The goal of this report is to identify the progress of the commitments made by 22 organizations across Ontario in response to the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s (“Commission”) Inquiry into Assaults on Asian Canadian Anglers. From these commitments, best practices can be drawn. The Commission has also been monitoring any further incidents, and a description of these is provided.

Fishing without fear: Report on the inquiry into assaults on Asian Canadian anglers

May 2008 - During the Inquiry into Assaults on Asian Canadian Anglers, the Commission met with 21 organizations to identify solutions. These organizations included police services, municipalities, provincial government ministries, and community organizations. The Commission obtained over 50 commitments from these organizations and made an additional seven commitments. This report is an account of the results of the Inquiry.

Racial harassment and poisoned environments (fact sheet)

2005 - All Ontarians have the right to be free from harassment in the workplace or in housing accommodation because of, among other things, race, colour, ancestry, place of origin, ethnic origin, citizenship and creed. While the Ontario Human Rights Code (the “Code”) doesn’t explicitly prohibit harassment in the areas of services, goods and facilities, contracts or membership in trade and vocational associations, the Commission will treat racial harassment in such situations as a form of discrimination and therefore a breach of the Code.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - harassment

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

harcèlement

L’article 10 (1) du Code définit le harcèlement dans les termes suivants : « Fait pour une personne de faire des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns ».

Pêcher sans crainte : Rapport d’enquête sur les agressions contre les pêcheurs canadiens d’origine asiatique

Mai 2008 - Pendant l’enquête sur les agressions contre les pêcheurs canadiens d’origine asiatique, la Commission a rencontré 21 organismes pour trouver des solutions au problème, dont des services policiers, des municipalités, des ministères du gouvernement provincial et des organismes communautaires. Les organismes ont donné 50 garanties à la Commission, laquelle s’est engagée de son côté à sept autres. Le présent rapport présente les résultats de l’enquête.

Harcèlement racial et atmosphères empoisonnées (fiche)

2005 - Les Ontariens et Ontariennes ont le droit d’être à l’abri de tout harcèlement au travail ou à domicile pour des raisons fondées entre autres sur la race, la couleur, l’ascendance, le lieu d’origine, l’origine ethnique, la citoyenneté et la croyance. Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le « Code ») ne renferme aucune disposition explicite sur le harcèlement dans les domaines des services, des biens ou des installations, des contrats et de l’appartenance à un syndicat ou à une association commerciale ou professionnelle. Cependant, la Commission traitera le harcèlement racial dans ce type de situation comme une forme de discrimination et, par conséquent, comme une infraction au Code.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - harcèlement