Language selector

harassment

Harassment is defined in subsection 10(1) of the Code as "engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome.”

Correction: Toronto Police Service body–worn camera pilot project

May 27, 2015

Toronto - Several news outlets have recently quoted a Toronto Police Service (TPS) news release regarding body-worn cameras: http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

That release says, in part:

The Service has partnered with the Information & Privacy Commissioner, the Ontario Human Rights Commission, the Ministry of the Attorney General and the Toronto Police Association to develop a procedure that addresses issues of privacy, retention, and disclosure. 

This statement is not accurate.

Gender identity and gender expression (brochure)

April 2014 - People who are transgender, or gender non-conforming, come from all walks of life. Yet they are one of the most disadvantaged groups in society. Trans people routinely experience discrimination, harassment and even violence because their gender identity or gender expression is different from their birth-assigned sex. Under the Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) people are protected from discrimination and harassment because of gender identity and gender expression in employment, housing, facilities and services, contracts, and membership in unions, trade or professional associations.

Sexual harassment [16]

From: Guide to your rights and responsibilities under the Human Rights Code

Sexual harassment in housing and workplaces

“Harassment” in this section means comments or actions based on sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression that are unwelcome to you or should be known to be unwelcome. They may include humiliating or annoying conduct. Harassment requires a “course of conduct,” which means that a pattern of behaviour or more than one incident is usually required for a claim to be made to the Tribunal. However, a single significant incident may be offensive enough to be considered sexual harassment.

Policy on preventing sexual and gender-based harassment

May 2013 - Sexual harassment is a form of discrimination based on sex. The Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) prohibits all forms of discrimination based on sex, and includes provisions that focus on sexual harassment. The principles set out in this policy will, depending on the circumstances, apply to instances of sexual harassment in any of the social areas covered by the Code. However, to reflect the most important recent developments in the law and in social science research, this policy will focus on the areas of employment, housing and education.

13. Services

From: Minds that matter: Report on the consultation on human rights, mental health and addictions

Under the Code, service providers have a duty to provide services that are free from discrimination and harassment. “Services” is a very broad category and includes services designed for everyone (shops, restaurants or education), as well as those that apply specifically to people with mental health disabilities and addictions (the mental health system or addiction treatment centres).

12. Employment

From: Minds that matter: Report on the consultation on human rights, mental health and addictions

Work, paid or unpaid, is a fundamental part of realizing dignity, self-determination and a person’s full potential in society. In Ontario, people are protected from discrimination based on disability in employment. Employment includes paid employment, volunteer work, student internships, special job placements, and temporary, contract, seasonal or casual employment. Many consumer/survivors or people with addictions expressed their desire to work or volunteer, but could not without the accommodation they needed.

11. Housing

From: Minds that matter: Report on the consultation on human rights, mental health and addictions

The lack of affordable and suitable housing across Ontario was raised by individuals with mental health and addiction disabilities, and organizations. Statistics Canada’s 2006 Participation Activity Limitation Survey (PALS) shows that in Ontario, people with “emotional” disabilities are more likely to be in core housing need than the non-disabled population and people with other types of disabilities.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - harassment

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

harcèlement

L’article 10 (1) du Code définit le harcèlement dans les termes suivants : « Fait pour une personne de faire des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns ».

Correction: Projet pilote de cameras corporelles du service de police de Toronto

Mai 27, 2015

Toronto – Plusieurs médias d’information ont récemment cité un communiqué de presse (en anglais) du service de police de Toronto (SPT) traitant des caméras corporelles : http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

Ce communiqué de presse stipule, entre autres, que :

Le service de police a établi un partenariat avec le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, le ministère du Procureur général et la Toronto Police Association pour élaborer une procédure traitant des questions de vie privée et du maintien et de la divulgation des informations.  

 Cet énoncé n’est pas exact.

Identité sexuelle et expression de l’identité sexuelle (brochure)

Avril 2014 - Les personnes transgenres ou non conformistes sur le plan du sexe sont issues de tous les milieux. Pourtant, elles constituent l’un des groupes les plus défavorisés de la société. Les personnes trans font couramment l’objet de discrimination, de harcèlement ou de violence étant donné que leur identité sexuelle ou l’expression de celle-ci ne correspond pas au sexe leur ayant été assigné à la naissance. Aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (Code), nous avons tous le droit de vivre à l’abri de la discrimination et du harcèlement fondés sur l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle dans les domaines de l’emploi, du logement, des installations et services, des contrats et de l’adhésion à un syndicat ou à une association commerciale ou professionnelle.

Politique sur la prévention du harcèlement sexuel et du harcèlement fondé sur le sexe

Mai 2013 - Le harcèlement sexuel est une forme de discrimination fondée sur le sexe[1]. Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le Code) interdit toute forme de discrimination fondée sur le sexe et comprend des provisions axées sur le harcèlement sexuel. Les principes énoncés dans la présente politique s’appliqueront, selon les circonstances, aux instances de harcèlement sexuel dans l’un ou l’autre des domaines d’interaction sociale traités par le Code. Toutefois, afin de refléter les principaux développements survenus récemment dans la loi et la recherche en sciences sociales, elle focalisera les secteurs de l’emploi, du logement et de l’éducation.

13. Services

From: Parce qu’on importe!

Aux termes du Code, les fournisseurs de services ont l’obligation de fournir des services libres de discrimination et de harcèlement. La catégorie des « services » est très vaste et comprend les services grand public (boutiques, restaurants, éducation) et les services qui s’appliquent tout spécifiquement aux personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux et des dépendances (système de santé mentale ou centres de traitement des dépendances). Certains services touchent un nombre restreint de personnes.

12. Emploi

From: Parce qu’on importe!

Rémunéré ou non, l’emploi est un élément central de la dignité humaine, de l’auto-détermination et de la réalisation de son plein potentiel. En Ontario, le Code protège les gens contre la discrimination en emploi fondée sur le handicap. L’emploi inclut tout travail rémunéré ou bénévole, les stages étudiants, les placements en emplois particuliers, ainsi que les emplois temporaires, contractuels, saisonniers ou occasionnels. Bon nombre d’usagers/survivants ou de personnes aux prises avec des dépendances ont formulé le désir de travailler ou de faire du bénévolat, mais n’y parviennent pas sans mesures d’adaptation.

11. Logement

From: Parce qu’on importe!

La question du manque de logements abordables et convenables à l’échelle de l’Ontario a été soulevée par des personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux et des dépendances, et des organisations. L’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités (EPLA) de 2006 de Statistique Canada montre qu’en Ontario, les personnes aux prises avec des troubles « émotifs » sont plus susceptibles que les personnes non handicapées ou aux prises avec d’autres types de handicaps d’avoir un besoin impérieux de logement.

Le harcèlement racial: connaissez vos droits (brochure)

2012 - Le harcèlement racial peut être fondé sur plusieurs de ces motifs ou sur l'un d'entre eux, ou sur des motifs liés à eux. Par exemple : si vous portez des vêtements qui se rapportent à vos origines, si vous parlez avec un accent ou si vous pratiquez une certaine religion. La loi interdit à toute personne de vous harceler, de vous insulter ou de vous traiter injustement pour l’une ou l’autre de ces raisons.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - harcèlement