Language selector

because of association

You cannot be discriminated against because of your association, relationship or dealings with another person identified by a ground in the Code. You have this protection whether or not you are identified by a ground in the Code.

For examples:

  • A restaurant owner refuses to serve you because you are accompanied by someone who is a member of a racialized group.
  • A landlord refuses to rent an apartment to you because your co-tenant is a woman with a young child.

Correction: Toronto Police Service body–worn camera pilot project

May 27, 2015

Toronto - Several news outlets have recently quoted a Toronto Police Service (TPS) news release regarding body-worn cameras: http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

That release says, in part:

The Service has partnered with the Information & Privacy Commissioner, the Ontario Human Rights Commission, the Ministry of the Attorney General and the Toronto Police Association to develop a procedure that addresses issues of privacy, retention, and disclosure. 

This statement is not accurate.

Letter to Frank Fabiano, Chief Administrative Officer of the City of Thorold re: Black Hawk warrior image

July 16, 2014

Frank Fabiano
Chief Administrative Officer, City of Thorold

Dear Mr. Fabiano,

I am writing in response to your request for advice regarding the issue raised by people of Aboriginal heritage in your community who find objectionable the current Black Hawk warrior image used by local hockey teams and their associations in Thorold, Ontario.

Part 2 - The policy framework

From: Policy and guidelines on racism and racial discrimination

3. Types of racial discrimination

It is not possible to slot people’s experiences of racial discrimination into clear categories. Manifestations of discrimination blur together and overlap to a large degree. However, for the purposes of this policy, it is necessary to describe the different ways in which racial discrimination can take place. Therefore, what follows is a discussion of the main ways in which racial discrimination can occur that are helpful in understanding and addressing the experience of racial discrimination.

V. Identifying discrimination in rental housing

From: Policy on human rights and rental housing

1. Defining discrimination

The Code provides that every person has the right to be treated equally in the area of housing without discrimination because of any of the grounds set out in the Code. The purpose of anti-discrimination laws is to prevent the violation of human dignity and freedom through the imposition of disadvantage, stereotyping, or political or social prejudice.

Relevant sections of the Code

From: Policy on HIV/AIDS-related discrimination

HIV/AIDS as a disability (section 10)

The OHRC recognizes that AIDS and other HIV-related medical conditions are disabilities under the Code. "Disability" is defined under section (s.) 10 of the Code. All persons infected with HIV or with HIV-related illness, or who are believed to have the virus, including those who are asymptomatic, are fully protected against discrimination in services (s. 1); housing (s. 2); contracts (s. 3); employment (s. 5); and membership in trade unions (s. 6).

Subscribe to RSS - because of association

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

pour des raisons fondées sur l’association

Personne n’a le droit de porter atteinte à votre droit à un traitement égal à cause de votre association, de vos relations ou de vos activités avec une personne visée par un des motifs du Code. Vous avez droit à cette protection que vous fassiez partie ou non d’un groupe protégé par le Code.

Exemples :

  • Le propriétaire d’un restaurant refuse de vous servir parce que vous êtes avec un membre d’un groupe racialisé.
  • Un locateur refuse de vous louer un logement parce que votre colocataire est une femme avec un jeune enfant.

Correction: Projet pilote de cameras corporelles du service de police de Toronto

Mai 27, 2015

Toronto – Plusieurs médias d’information ont récemment cité un communiqué de presse (en anglais) du service de police de Toronto (SPT) traitant des caméras corporelles : http://torontopolice.on.ca/newsreleases/31840

Ce communiqué de presse stipule, entre autres, que :

Le service de police a établi un partenariat avec le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, le ministère du Procureur général et la Toronto Police Association pour élaborer une procédure traitant des questions de vie privée et du maintien et de la divulgation des informations.  

 Cet énoncé n’est pas exact.

Lettre à Frank Fabiano, directeur administratif de la Ville de Thorold - l'image de guerrier Black Hawk

Juillet 16, 2014

Frank Fabiano
Directeur général, Ville de Thorold

Monsieur,

Je vous écris en réponse à votre demande de conseils relativement aux préoccupations soulevées par les membres d’origine autochtone de votre collectivité qui trouvent inacceptable l’image d’un guerrier « Black Hawk » utilisée à l’heure actuelle par les équipes de hockey locales et leurs associations à Thorold, en Ontario.

Types de discrimination en matière de logement locatif

From: Les droits de la personne et le logement locatif en Ontario : Document de référence

En matière de logement locatif, la discrimination peut prendre diverses formes. Il n’est pas nécessaire de démontrer que la discrimination était délibérée, malicieuse ou même intentionnelle. Même des gestes involontaires ou des commentaires faits comme « simples plaisanteries » sont interdits s’ils sont offensants et discriminatoires en vertu d’un motif prévu au Code.

V. Reconnaître la discrimination en matière de logement locatif

From: Politique concernant les droits de la personne et le logement locatif

1. Définir la discrimination

Le Code stipule que toute personne a droit à un traitement égal en matière d’occupation d’un logement, sans discrimination fondée sur l'un ou l'autre des motifs qu'il prévoit. Les lois antidiscrimination ont pour objet d’empêcher qu’il y ait atteinte à la dignité et à la liberté humaines au moyen de l’imposition de désavantages, de stéréotypes ou de préjudices politiques ou sociaux.

Les dispositions pertinentes du Code

From: Politique concernant la discrimination liée au VIH et au SIDA

Le VIH/sida comme un handicap (article 10)

La CODP reconnaît que le sida et d'autres affections liées au VIH constituent un handicap au sens du Code. Toute personne infectée par le VIH, atteinte d'une maladie liée au VIH ou présumée l'être, même si elle ne présente aucun symptôme, est pleinement protégée contre la discrimination dans le domaine des services (art. 1), du logement (art. 2), des contrats (art. 3), de l'emploi (art. 5) et de l'adhésion à un syndicat (art. 6).

Subscribe to RSS - pour des raisons fondées sur l’association