Language selector

sex

Implementation of Human Rights Settlement: OHRC letter to the Ottawa Police Services Board

May 16, 2017 - Dear Councillor El-Chantiry, Today the Ottawa Police Services Board is receiving the results of Phase III of the Ottawa Police Services Gender Project.  As you know, the project arises out of a settlement reached with the Ontario Human Rights Commission (Commission) in a human rights case filed by a female Ottawa Police Services (OPS) officer. 

New OHRC report says sexualized dress codes “not on the menu”

March 8, 2017

To coincide with International Women’s Day, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has released a new report that outlines commitments made by many of Ontario’s largest and most well-known restaurant chains to eliminate discriminatory dress codes for restaurant staff. Not on the Menu: Inquiry report on sexual and gender-based dress codes in Ontario’s restaurants outlines findings from an inquiry into dress codes at certain restaurants operating across Ontario.

Re: Implementing recommendations of the UN Committee on the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women

February 3, 2017 - Dear Minister Naidoo-Harris: I am writing to you in keeping with the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s mandate to promote and protect human rights in Ontario. First, let me congratulate you on your recent appointment as the new Minister of Women’s Issues for Ontario.

“Unfounded” – a human rights issue

February 16, 2017

Robyn Doolittle’s ground-breaking investigation “Unfounded” exposes how police services across Canada are “ill-equipped or unwilling to investigate sexual assault cases” with nearly 20% being dismissed as “unfounded.” At one point in the story, Doolittle asks police to explain the disproportionate “unfounded” rates. She is told by the police that the explanation might lie in coding errors or misclassification of cases, but we know that there are more factors at play. With “unfounded” rates of 19% across Canada and as high as nearly 60% in some jurisdictions, part of the answer must also lie in systemic bias against women – which is a human rights issue.

Re: Sexualized and gender-specific dress codes in restaurants

July 8, 2016 - In pursuit of our public interest mandate, section 31 of the Code authorizes the OHRC to request production of documents and gather other information as part of an inquiry. Pursuant to section 31, we are writing to request that you review employee dress codes in your Ontario operations, remove any discriminatory requirements, and provide documentation showing that you have done this.

Letter to MCSCS regarding data on the use of segregation

June 15, 2016 - Dear Minister Orazietti, Congratulations on your appointment as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.  The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is looking forward to working closely with you, especially as you continue to review the use of segregation within provincial jails, as well as the treatment of immigration detainees held in provincial custody.

Example 3 - Code right v. Code right: Muslim barber and woman denied service

From: Competing Human Rights

Muslim barber and woman denied service

Read the following excerpt from a news clipping about a competing rights case. This is an example involving two Code grounds – creed versus sex. When you’re finished reading, answer the questions at the bottom of the page.

You can also watch this CTV news video about the case.

Dress Code checklist for employers

From: OHRC policy position on sexualized and gender-specific dress codes

Removing barriers based on sex and gender

This checklist can help organizations make sure that their dress codes and uniform policies are consistent with Ontario’s Human Rights Code protections relating to sex and gender, as set out in the OHRC’s Policy position on sexualized and gender-specific dress codes.

Dress codes/uniform policies should:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - sex

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

sexe

Mise en oeuvre de l'entente sur les droits de la personne : Lettre de la CODP à la Commission des services policiers d'Ottawa

Le 16 mai 2017 - Monsieur le Conseiller municipal, aujourd’hui, la Commission des services policiers d’Ottawa doit recevoir les résultats de la Phase III du projet d’examen des questions d’égalité entre les sexes du Service de police d’Ottawa. Comme vous le savez, le projet découle d’une entente conclue avec la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (la Commission) dans le cadre d’une plainte en matière de droits de la personne déposée par une agente du Service de police d’Ottawa (SPO).

Le nouveau rapport de la CODP déclare que les codes vestimentaires sexualisés «ne sont pas au menu»

Mars 8, 2017

À l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la femme, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a publié un nouveau rapport qui explique les engagements pris par plusieurs chaînes de restaurants, qui comptent parmi les plus importantes et les mieux connues de l’Ontario, pour éliminer les codes vestimentaires discriminatoires s’appliquant au personnel de leurs restaurants.

Objet : Mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées par le Comité des Nations Unies sur la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes

3 février 2017 - Madame, Je vous écris conformément au mandat de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne visant à promouvoir et à protéger les droits de la personne en Ontario. Permettez-moi, tout d’abord, de vous adresser mes félicitations pour votre récente nomination en tant que nouvelle ministre de la Condition féminine de l’Ontario.

« Sans fondement » (« Unfounded ») – un enjeu en matière de droits de la personne

Février 16, 2017

L’enquête inédite de Robyn Doolittle, « Unfounded » (« Sans fondement »), montre à quel point les services de police de tout le Canada sont « mal équipés ou réticents lorsqu’il s’agit d’enquêter sur les cas d’agression sexuelle ». En effet, près de 20 p. 100 des cas sont rejetés comme étant « sans fondement ». À un moment au cours de son enquête, Mme Doolittle demande à la police d’expliquer le taux disproportionné de cas « sans fondement ». La police lui répond que ceci est peut-être dû à des erreurs de codage ou à une mauvaise classification des cas, mais nous savons que d’autres facteurs entrent en jeu. Comme les taux de cas « sans fondement » atteignent 19 p. 100 au Canada et même 60 p. 100 dans certaines territoires de compétence, une partie de la réponse doit également être attribuable aux préjugés systémiques à l’égard des femmes, soit un problème en matière de droits de la personne.

Objet : Codes vestimentaires sexospécifiques et sexualisés dans les restaurants

Le 8 juillet 2016 - Pour remplir notre mandat d’intérêt public, l’article 31 du Code autorise la CODP à demander la production de documents et à recueillir des renseignements supplémentaires dans le cadre d’une enquête. En vertu de ce même article, nous vous adressons ce courrier afin de vous prier de revoir les codes vestimentaires des employés de vos établissements ontariens, d’éliminer toute exigence discriminatoire et de fournir les documents attestant de ces modifications.

Lettre à l’attention du MSCSC concernant les données sur le recours au placement en isolement

Le 15 juin 2016, Je vous adresse mes félicitations pour votre nomination comme ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) se réjouit à l’idée de collaborer étroitement avec vous, d’autant plus que vous poursuivez l’examen du recours au placement en isolement au sein des prisons provinciales, ainsi que du traitement dans les établissements provinciaux des personnes détenues en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (personnes détenues en vertu de la LIPR).

Exemple 3 - Droit protégé par le Code c. droit protégé par le Code : Barbier musulman et refus d’offrir des services à une femme

From: Droits de la personne contradictoires

Barbier musulman et refus d’offrir des services à une femme

Lisez l’extrait suivant d’un article de journal sur une situation de droits contradictoires. Il s’agit d’un exemple de situation opposant deux motifs prévus au Code, la croyance et le sexe. Lorsque vous avez terminé, répondez aux questions au bas de la page.

Vous pouvez aussi visionner ce reportage (en anglais) de CTV sur l’affaire.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - sexe