Language selector

indigenous

The human rights of Indigenous people in Ontario (including status, non-status, First Nations, Métis and Inuit) are protected by the all Code grounds. However, discrimination because a person identifies as Indigenous involve the grounds of race, creed and ancestry.

National Aboriginal Day: Reflecting on the journey to reconciliation

June 20, 2016

On Canada’s 20th annual National Aboriginal Day, we recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and many contributions of First Nations,Inuit and Métis (Indigenous) peoples. As an arms-length agency of government, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) also sees today as an opportunity to restate our commitment to reconciliation and working alongside Indigenous communities across Ontario.

Letter to MCSCS regarding data on the use of segregation

June 15, 2016 - Dear Minister Orazietti, Congratulations on your appointment as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.  The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is looking forward to working closely with you, especially as you continue to review the use of segregation within provincial jails, as well as the treatment of immigration detainees held in provincial custody.

End segregation, says Ontario Human Rights Commission

March 7, 2016

by Renu Mandhane

In 2007, Ashley Smith died in federal custody in Kitchener, Ont., after spending extended periods of time in segregation (or solitary confinement). In 2010, Edward Snowshoe died by suicide while in custody in Edmonton, Alta., after spending 162 days in segregation. These cases have become emblematic of the incredible problems with the continued use of segregation in prisons.

Submission of the OHRC to the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services Provincial Segregation Review

February 29, 2016 - The OHRC is concerned that segregation is being used in a manner that violates prisoners’ rights under Ontario’s Human Rights Code. As a result, the OHRC is calling upon MCSCS to end this practice and, in the meantime implement interim measures, including strict time limits and external oversight, to reduce the harm of segregation on vulnerable prisoners.

To Children’s Aid Societies in Ontario re: Request for disaggregated data regarding children and youth in Ontario’s child welfare system

February 24, 2016

By way of introduction, I am the Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC). On December 16, 2015, the OHRC announced that it will use its mandate under the Ontario Human Right Code (Code) to examine the overrepresentation of Indigenous and racialized children and youth in the child welfare system.

Public lecture focuses on new ways to stamp out racial profiling

Tuesday February 16, 2016 - York University’s School of Public Policy & Administration, Institute for Social Research, and Centre for Human Rights and the Ontario Human Rights Commission invite you to attend a public lecture to look at new ways to stamp out racial profiling. Keynote speaker and renowned journalist Haroon Siddiqui will talk about existing and emerging forms of racial profiling, and a panel will offer a variety of perspectives.

The OHRC responds to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s call for action on Indigenous children in the child welfare system

December 16, 2015

Today, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s (TRC) calls to action, and to similar calls from racialized communities, by committing to address the goal of preventing and reducing the overrepresentation of Indigenous and racialized children and youth in the child welfare system.

Legal groups, community advocates, academics and Ontario Human Rights Commission call for tougher regulation on "carding"

December 7, 2015

A broad network of community advocates, human rights and legal experts, academics, concerned and affected individuals and the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is calling on the Province to ensure that its Draft Regulation on police street checks – or “carding” – achieves the Minister’s stated objective of ending arbitrary and discriminatory police street checks. 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - indigenous

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

autochtone

Les droits de la personne des peuples autochtones en Ontario (Indiens inscrits et non inscrits, Premières Nations, Métis and Inuit) sont protégés par les motifs de la race, de la croyance et de l'ascendance dans le Code.

La CODP offre son soutien à l'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées

Août 24, 2016

Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous inciter à adopter une interprétation assez large du cadre de référence de l’Enquête nationale en ce qui concerne les droits de la personne, ainsi que pour vous offrir notre soutien dans l’exécution de votre mandat si important.

Journée nationale des Autochtones : Réflexion sur le chemin menant à la réconciliation

Juin 20, 2016

À l’occasion de la 20e Journée nationale des Autochtones au Canada, nous reconnaissons et célébrons comme chaque année le patrimoine singulier, les différentes cultures et les nombreuses contributions des Premières Nations et des peuples métis et inuits (autochtones). En tant qu’organisme autonome du gouvernement, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) estime que cette journée offre également l’occasion de réaffirmer notre engagement envers la réconciliation et la collaboration avec les communautés autochtones de l’Ontario.

Lettre à l’attention du MSCSC concernant les données sur le recours au placement en isolement

Le 15 juin 2016, Je vous adresse mes félicitations pour votre nomination comme ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) se réjouit à l’idée de collaborer étroitement avec vous, d’autant plus que vous poursuivez l’examen du recours au placement en isolement au sein des prisons provinciales, ainsi que du traitement dans les établissements provinciaux des personnes détenues en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (personnes détenues en vertu de la LIPR).

Mettons fin à l'isolement, demande la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne

Mars 7, 2016

par Renu Mandhane

En 2007, Ashley Smith est décédée dans un établissement fédéral, à Kitchener, en Ontario, après avoir passé de longues périodes en isolement (isolement cellulaire). En 2010, Edward Snowshoe s'est suicidé alors qu'il était sous garde, à Edmonton, en Alberta, après avoir passé 162 jours en isolement. Ces cas illustrent les énormes problèmes que cause la pratique continue de l'isolement dans les prisons.

Mémoire présenté par la CODP au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Le 16 février 2016 - La CODP se préoccupe du fait que le placement en isolement soit effectué d’une façon qui contrevient aux droits des détenus aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario. Par conséquent, la CODP demande au MSCSC de mettre fin à cette pratique et, d’ici à ce que cela soit fait, d’adopter des mesures intérimaires, y compris des limites de temps rigoureuses et mesures de surveillance externes, afin de réduire les torts causés par le placement en isolement aux détenus vulnérables.

Conférence publique sur les nouvelles façons d’enrayer le profilage racial

Le mardi 16 février 2016 -  L’école de politique et d’administration publiques, l’institut de recherche sociale et le centre des droits de la personne de l’Université York, et la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne vous invitent à assister à une conférence publique organisée dans le but d’examiner de nouvelles façons d’enrayer le profilage racial. Le conférencier invité et journaliste de renom Haroon Siddiqui parlera des formes existantes et émergentes de profilage racial, et un panel offrira une variété de points de vue.  

Réponse de la CODP à l’appel à l’action lancé par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada à propos des enfants et des jeunes autochtones pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance

Décembre 16, 2015

Aujourd’hui, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) répond aux appels à l’action lancés par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada (CVR) et à des appels similaires lancés par des communautés racialisées, en s’engageant à œuvrer à la prévention et à la réduction de la surreprésentation des enfants et des jeunes autochtones et racialisés au sein du système de bien-être de l’enfance. 

Des groupes de juristes, des activistes, des universitaires et la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne appellent à un règlement plus rigoureux sur le fichage

Décembre 7, 2015

Un vaste réseau d'activistes communautaires, de spécialistes des droits de la personne et du droit, d'universitaires, de particuliers concernés et préoccupés, et de représentants de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), demande à la province de veiller à ce que son projet de règlement sur les contrôles de routine par la police – ou le « fichage » – soit conforme à l'objectif énoncé du ministère de mettre fin aux contrôles de routine arbitraires et discriminatoires. 

11. Pratiques spirituelles autochtones

From: Politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur la croyance

En Ontario, les peuples autochtones suivent une variété de traditions spirituelles[487] qui reflètent la diversité des peuples autochtones de l’Ontario et du Canada[488]. La présente section porte sur l’obligation d’accommodement des convictions et pratiques spirituelles autochtones dans les domaines protégés par le Code.[489]

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - autochtone