Language selector

family status

Re: MCSCS Corrections Reform - Findings from Tour of Kenora Jail

February 28, 2017 - Dear Minister Lalonde, I am writing today to provide you with a summary of what we learned. There are some issues that appear unique to the Kenora Jail that raise human rights concerns and warrant further consideration and action on the part of the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services (MCSCS).  I look forward to discussing these issues further at our upcoming meeting scheduled for early March.

Human rights settlement aims to increase gender diversity in Ottawa Police Service

December 2, 2015

Toronto - A settlement has been reached with the Ottawa Police in a case that alleged a female police officer was denied training, job placement and promotion opportunities because of her family status, sex and maternity leaves. The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) intervened at the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario to address systemic barriers to promotion and advancement that women can face. 

Can I fire a woman whose pregnancy is preventing her from doing the job she was hired to do?

It is discrimination if you fire, demote or lay off an employee because she is or may become pregnant or she is away on maternity leave or disability leave related to pregnancy. Employers have a duty to accommodate a pregnant woman unless it would cause undue hardship. This may include changing her job duties temporarily or providing time off work.

English

Preventing discrimination because of pregnancy and breastfeeding

Webinar Information

Preventing discrimination because of pregnancy and breastfeeding

Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Webinar

October 29, 2014 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Policy on preventing discrimination because of pregnancy and breastfeeding overview and Q&A.

English

Q&A on the duty to accommodate

Webinar Information

Q&A on the duty to accommodate

Human Rights and the Duty to Accommodate - Q&A

March 18, 2014 at 11:00 am

60 minutes

Accommodation rights and responsibilities under the Ontario Human Rights Code.

English

Building human rights into municipal planning is aim of new OHRC guide

February 17, 2012

Kingston - Attorney General John Gerretsen today joined Barbara Hall, Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission, to launch In the zone: Housing, human rights and municipal planning. The guide offers municipalities information about their legal obligations, and about the tools and best practices they can apply to connect human rights and housing when making zoning and planning decisions.

Human rights and family status (brochure)

2012 - The Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) provides for equal rights and opportunities, and freedom from discrimination based on various grounds. The Code recognizes the dignity and worth of every person in Ontario, in employment, housing, facilities and services, contracts, and membership in unions, trade or vocational associations. The Code protects you from discrimination in these areas based on your family status.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - family status

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

état familial

Objet : La réforme des services correctionnels du MSCSC – Observations après la visite de la prison de Kenora

Le 28 février 2017 - Madame la Ministre, Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous présenter un résumé de nos observations. Nous avons relevé quelques problèmes par rapport aux droits de la personne, qui semblent particuliers à la prison de Kenora et qui méritent l’attention du ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels, ainsi que la prise de mesures. Je me réjouis de discuter plus en détail de ces points à notre prochaine rencontre prévue pour début mars.

Résumé : Misetich c. Value Village – Discrimination fondée sur l’état familial

Septembre 2016 - La CODP est intervenue dans l’affaire Misetich c. Value Village, une cause devant le Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (TDPO) portant sur une plainte de discrimination fondée sur l’état familial. La CODP est intervenue pour s’assurer que la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’affaire Johnstone c.

Un règlement intervenu en matière de droits de la personne vise à accroître la diversité hommes-femmes au sein du Service de police d’Ottawa

Décembre 2, 2015

Toronto - Un règlement a été conclu avec le Service de police d’Ottawa dans une affaire entourant le refus allégué d’accorder à une agente de police des occasions de formation, de placement et d’avancement en raison de son état familial, de son sexe et de ses congés de maternité. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) était intervenue devant le Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario pour faire état d’obstacles systémiques à la promotion et à l’avancement auxquels les femmes peuvent se heurter.  

Clubs de loisirs

From: Guide concernant vos droits et responsabilités en vertu du Code des droits de la personne

Les clubs de loisirs, notamment les clubs de sport, ont le droit d’offrir des services différents ou d’imposer des droits d’admission différents selon le sexe, l’état matrimonial ou l’état familial de leurs clients. Les forfaits de famille dans les centres communautaires ou les sections d’un gymnase réservées aux femmes sont donc des formes permises de discrimination aux termes du Code.

Intégrer les droits de la personne à la planification municipale est l'objectif du nouveau guide de la CODP

Février 17, 2012

Kingston - Le procureur général John Gerretsen s'est joint, aujourd'hui, à Barbara Hall, commissaire en chef de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, pour lancer la publication Dans la zone : Logement, droits de la personne et planification municipale. Ce guide offre aux municipalités des renseignements sur leurs obligations légales ainsi que sur les outils et pratiques exemplaires qu'elles peuvent utiliser pour intégrer les droits de la personne dans les décisions sur le zonage et la planification qui concernent le logement.

Les droits de la personne et l'état familial (brochure)

2012 - Le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario (le Code) garantit l'égalité des droits et des possibilités, ainsi que le droit de vivre sans discrimination fondée sur divers motifs. Le Code reconnaît la dignité et la valeur de toute personne en Ontario, dans les domaines de l'emploi, du logement, des installations et des services, des contrats et de l'adhésion à des syndicats ou à une association commerciale ou professionnelle. Le Code vous protège contre la discrimination fondée sur l'état familial, dans ces domaines.

Lancement du Guide des droits de la personne et des services policiers

Juin 27, 2011
Toronto – Dans le cadre de sa collaboration continue avec la police dans toute la province, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a publié aujourd'hui un nouveau guide intitulé Droits de la personne et services policiers : créer et maintenir un changement organisationnel, qui vise à encourager les services policiers de l'Ontario à intégrer les droits de la personne dans toutes leurs activités.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - état familial