Language selector

ancestry

Employers get expert help on human rights in the workplace

November 5, 2008

Toronto – The new edition of a human rights handbook will help employers put human rights into action. The Ontario Human Rights Commission today released the newly-updated third edition of Human Rights at Work. This plain-language guide includes examples, best practices, sample forms and other resources to help people develop and maintain inclusive, respectful workplaces that meet the standards of the Ontario Human Rights Code.

Commission launches report calling for collective housing strategy

July 8, 2008

Toronto - Chief Commissioner Barbara Hall and the Ontario Human Rights Commission today launched “Right at home: Report on the consultation on human rights and rental housing in Ontario.” This report, which follows a year of public sessions, meetings and submissions involving hundreds of individuals and organizations across the province, focuses on housing as a human right, and sets out a framework for collective action to identify, remove and prevent discrimination in rental housing.

Human Rights system changes take effect

June 30, 2008

Toronto - The Human Rights Code Amendment Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c. 30 is now in effect. As a result, the Ontario Human Rights Commission will no longer accept complaints of discrimination. All new applications alleging discrimination are to be filed with the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario (HRTO). Complaints that were filed with the Commission before June 30, 2008 can be changed to applications to the HRTO if the Complainant takes an active step to do so.

OHRC marks opening of fishing season with update on Asian Canadian fishing inquiry

April 8, 2008

Toronto - Last December, the Ontario Human Rights Commission released preliminary findings from its inquiry into discrimination and harassment including instances of assault against Asian Canadian anglers. Since that time, the Commission has made progress working with key players across the province, including government ministries, municipalities, community organizations and fishing/sporting associations.

New human rights policy to modernize struggle against racism in Ontario

June 28, 2005

Toronto - “It is time organizations and institutions acknowledge the reality of racism and be prepared to act against subtle and sometimes subconscious prejudices and stereotypes that too often result in discrimination”, said Keith Norton, Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission today as he announced the release of the Commission’s Policy and Guidelines on Racism and Racial Discrimination.

Human rights commissions and economic and social rights

2001 - This paper is one of several initiatives by the Ontario Human Rights Commission to explore ways in which human rights commissions can become more involved in protecting and promoting economic and social rights and in implementing international treaties to which Canada is a party. The challenge for human rights commissions is to find ways to maximize the potential of their mandates to promote international standards, including those contained in the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.

Policy on height and weight requirements

June 1996 - Standards for height and weight are sometimes used to screen or evaluate job applicants. In the OHRC's experience, this tends to occur in recruitment for occupations that traditionally have been male dominated. These standards or selection criteria are based on the average physical stature of men in the majority population group. Women and members of racialized groups are, on the average, physically smaller than members of the majority population group. Consequently, these groups tend to be disadvantaged by height and weight criteria. The policy of the OHRC with regard to such recruitment practices is set out below. This policy applies to all height and weight criteria used in the context of employment.

Policy on discrimination and language

June 1996 - This policy statement sets out the OHRC’s position on language-based discrimination in the areas of employment, accommodation, services, contracts, and membership in trade unions, trades, occupational associations or self-governing professions. Although the Code does not explicitly identify "language" as a prohibited ground of discrimination, the Human Rights tribunal of Ontario may consider claims under a number of related grounds, such as ancestry, ethnic origin, place of origin and in some circumstances, race. In the Commission's experience, language can be an element of a complaint based on any of these grounds.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ancestry

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

ascendance

La Commission publie un rapport visant une stratégie conjointe de logement

Juillet 8, 2008
Toronto - La Commissaire en chef, Barbara Hall et la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne ont aujourd’hui lancé le rapport « Le droit au logement : Rapport de consultation sur les droits de la personne en matière de logement locatif en Ontario. » Ce rapport, fruit d’une année de séances publiques, de réunions et de soumissions ayant exigé la participation de centaines de personnes et d’organisations à l’échelle de la province, reconnaît que le droit au logement fait partie des droits de la personne et établit un cadre pour guider l’ensemble des efforts conjoints pour repérer, éliminer et prévenir la discrimination dans le secteur du logement locatif.

Les changements apportés au système des droits de la personne entrent en vigueur

Juin 30, 2008
Toronto - La Loi de 2006 modifiant le Code des droits de la personne, L.O. 2006, chap. 30, est entrée en vigueur. En conséquence, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne n'acceptera plus les plaintes au motif de la discrimination. Toutes les nouvelles requêtes invoquant la discrimination devront maintenant être déposées au Tribunal des droits de la personne de l'Ontario (TDPO) . Les plaintes qui ont été déposées à la Commission avant le 30 juin 2008 peuvent être remplacées par des requêtes au TDPO à condition que l'auteur de la plainte en prenne l'initiative.

La CODP marque l'ouverture de la saison de la pêche avec un compte rendu sur l'enquête sur les agressions contre les pêcheurs canaddiens d'origine asiatique

Avril 8, 2008
Toronto - En décembre dernier, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne a publié les premières conclusions de son enquête sur les actes de discrimination et de harcèlement, dont des cas d’agression, commis contre des pêcheurs canadiens d’origine asiatique. Depuis lors, la Commission a bien progressé en rencontrant des acteurs clés du secteur à travers la province, dont des fonctionnaires des gouvernements provincial et municipal, des représentants d’organismes communautaires, et des représentants d’associations sportives et de pêche.

Une nouvelle politique sur les droits de la personne modernise la lutte contre le racisme en ontario

Juin 28, 2005

Toronto - «Il est temps que les organisations et les institutions reconnaissent la réalité du racisme et soient préparées à lutter contre les préjugés et stéréotypes subtils et parfois inconscients qui engendrent trop souvent la discrimination», a déclaré aujourd’hui M. Keith Norton, commissaire en chef de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne en annonçant la publication du document de la Commission intitulé Politique et directives sur le racisme et la discrimination raciale.

Les commissions des droits de la personne et les droits écomomiques et sociaux

2001 - Ce document est l’une des initiatives prises par la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne pour explorer les façons dont les commissions des droits de la personne peuvent jouer un plus grand rôle dans la protection et la promotion des droits économiques et sociaux et dans l’application des traités internationaux ratifiés par le Canada. Le défi pour les commissions des droits de la personne consiste à trouver des façons de réaliser tout le potentiel de leur mandat pour mettre en valeur les normes internationales, y compris celles qui sont énoncées dans le Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels.

Politique concernant le poids et la grandeur comme exigences professionelles

Juin 1996 - Il arrive qu'un employeur se serve de normes de poids et de grandeur pour présélectionner et évaluer les personnes candidates à un emploi. La CODP a surtout constaté cette pratique en ce qui concerne le recrutement dans des métiers traditionnellement dominés par les hommes. Ces normes ou critères de sélection sont basés sur la carrure moyenne des hommes faisant partie du groupe majoritaire au sein de la population. Les femmes et les hommes appartenant à certains groupes racialisés sont, en moyenne, plus petits et moins forts que les membres du groupe majoritaire, et de ce fait, les critères de poids et de grandeur les mettent dans une position désavantageuse. Ce document énonce la politique adoptée par la CODP à l'égard de ce type de pratiques de recrutement. Elle s'applique à l'ensemble des critères de poids et de grandeur utilisés dans le domaine de l'emploi.

Politique concernant la discrimination et la langue

Juin 1996 - Cet énoncé de politique précise la position de la CODP en ce qui concerne la discrimination fondée sur la langue dans les domaines de l'emploi, du logement, des services, des contrats et de l'adhésion à un syndica, à une association de métiers, à une association professionnelle ou à des professions qui se réglementent elles-mêmes. Même si le Code ne cite pas expressément «la langue» parmi les motifs illicites de discrimination, le Tribunal des droits de la personnes de l'Ontario accepte des requêtes liées à un certain nombre de motifs apparentés, tels que l'ascendance, le lieu d'origine, l'origine ethnique et, dans certaines circonstances, la race. Selon l'expérience de la Commission, la langue peut être un élément d'une plainte fondée sur l'un quelconque de ces motifs.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ascendance