Language selector

ancestry

A Collective Impact: Interim report on the inquiry into racial profiling and racial discrimination of Black persons by the Toronto Police Service

From: Public interest inquiry into racial profiling and discrimination by the Toronto Police Service

In November 2017, the OHRC launched its inquiry into racial profiling and racial discrimination of Black persons by the TPS to help build trust between the police and Black communities. The goal of the inquiry was to pinpoint problem areas and make recommendations. This Interim Report describes what the OHRC has done to date. It provides findings relating to SIU investigations of police use of force resulting in serious injury or death, describes the lived experiences of Black individuals, and offers highlights of legal decisions.

Letter to MCSCS regarding data on the use of segregation

June 15, 2016 - Dear Minister Orazietti, Congratulations on your appointment as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.  The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is looking forward to working closely with you, especially as you continue to review the use of segregation within provincial jails, as well as the treatment of immigration detainees held in provincial custody.

OHRC Submission to the Ministry of Children and Youth Services Review of the Child and Family Services Act

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) welcomes the opportunity to provide input to the government’s legislated review of the Child and Family Services Act (CFSA). Section 1 of Ontario’s Human Rights Code protects children from discrimination in services, because of race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, marital status, family status or disability.

Letter to Chief Paul Cook, Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) President

August 1, 2014

Chief Paul Cook
President, Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police

Dear Chief Cook,

On behalf of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC), I would like to congratulate the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) for its updated version of the LEARN Guideline for Police Record Checks with a clearer presumption against disclosure of non-conviction records.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ancestry

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

ascendance

Un impact collectif : Rapport provisoire relatif à l'enquête sur le profilage racial et la discrimination envers les personnes noires au sein du service de police de Toronto

From: Enquête d’intérêt public sur le profilage racial et la discrimination raciale au sein du service de police de Toronto

Énoncé de politique concernant les Francophones, la langue et la discrimination

Le présent énoncé de politique se fonde sur la Politique concernant la langue et la discrimination de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) et expose le lien entre le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (« le Code »), la discrimination fondée sur la langue et les droits de la minorité francophone en vertu d’autres textes législatifs.

Lettre à l’attention du MSCSC concernant les données sur le recours au placement en isolement

Le 15 juin 2016, Je vous adresse mes félicitations pour votre nomination comme ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) se réjouit à l’idée de collaborer étroitement avec vous, d’autant plus que vous poursuivez l’examen du recours au placement en isolement au sein des prisons provinciales, ainsi que du traitement dans les établissements provinciaux des personnes détenues en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (personnes détenues en vertu de la LIPR).

CODP Mémoire au ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse concernant l'examen de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) apprécie la possibilité qui lui est donnée de formuler des suggestions dans le cadre de l'examen de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille (LSEF) entrepris par le gouvernement en application de ladite loi. En matière de services, l'article 1 du Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario protège les enfants de toute discrimination fondée sur la race, l'ascendance, le lieu d'origine, la couleur, l'origine ethnique, la citoyenneté, la croyance, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, l'identité sexuelle, l'expression de l'identité sexuelle, l'état matrimonial, l'état familial ou un handicap.

Lettre au chef Paul Cook, président de l’Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario (ACPO)

Août 1, 2014

Chef Paul Cook
Président, Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario

Monsieur,

Au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), j’aimerais féliciter l’Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario (ACPO) pour sa version mise à jour de la directive LEARN sur la vérification des dossiers de la police, qui inclut une présomption plus claire à l’encontre de la divulgation de dossiers sans lien avec une condamnation.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - ascendance