Language selector

submission

Submission to inform Canada’s response to recommendations made during the UN Human Rights Council’s Universal Periodic Review (3rd cycle)

August 2018 - The OHRC welcomes the opportunity to provide input to the Government of Canada (Canada) as it prepares its response to the United Nations (UN) Human Rights Council’s draft Working Group report and recommendations on Canada’s third Universal Periodic Review (UPR). We trust that these submissions will also be of assistance to the Government of Ontario (Ontario) as it works with Canada to effectively implement human rights in Ontario.

OHRC Submission to the Independent Street Checks Review

May 1, 2018 - Regulation 58/16: Collection of Identifying Information in Certain Circumstances – Prohibition and Duties (the “Regulation”) was developed in response to numerous reports of racial profiling in policing across the province, with the goal of “ensuring that police-public interactions should be conducted without bias or discrimination”.  Unfortunately, in our view, the Regulation has not lived up to this promise and, as currently framed, cannot achieve its goal. Racial profiling in policing remains an ongoing reality for Indigenous, Black and other racialized communities.  The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is hopeful, however, that through this review and the recommendations that come out of it, the Regulation can be amended so that it can finally meet its promise.

OHRC submission to the Standing Committee on General Government re: Bill 114, An Act to provide for Anti-Racism Measures

May 2017 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is responsible for promoting and advancing human rights and preventing systemic discrimination. The OHRC has several functions under the Ontario Human Rights Code (Code), including the power to monitor and report on anything related to the state of human rights in Ontario. This includes reviewing legislation, regulations and policies for consistency with the Code.

Submission regarding Bill 89, Supporting Children, Youth and Families Act, 2017

April 3, 2017 - The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) welcomes the introduction of Bill 89, Supporting Children, Youth and Families Act, 2017. The Bill responds to human rights concerns raised by the OHRC about various aspects of Ontario’s child welfare system,[1] including the overrepresentation of Indigenous and racialized children and youth in Ontario’s child welfare system.

OHRC Submission to the Independent Review of Police Oversight Bodies

November 2016 - For nearly two decades, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has raised concerns about systemic discrimination that are part of the culture of policing in our province. There have been far too many instances of racial profiling, discriminatory use of force on people with mental health disabilities and/or addictions, and racism and sexism in investigations of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls in Ontario to ignore. These incidents and related concerns have sparked multiple coroner’s inquests, recommendations, reviews and reports, stretching back for decades. Yet they all have failed to eliminate systemic discrimination in policing.

Submission of the OHRC to the MGCS regarding name and sex designation change information

May 23, 2016 - The OHRC believes that MGCS’ current system for storing and sharing information relating to name and sex designation changes discriminates against trans people in violation of Ontario’s Human Rights Code, insofar as it fails to protect privacy and confidentiality relating to transgender status and transition history. Disclosing information of such a sensitive nature not only harms dignity, but also can expose people to significant barriers, disadvantage, and even health and safety risks.

Submission of the OHRC to the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services Provincial Segregation Review

February 29, 2016 - The OHRC is concerned that segregation is being used in a manner that violates prisoners’ rights under Ontario’s Human Rights Code. As a result, the OHRC is calling upon MCSCS to end this practice and, in the meantime implement interim measures, including strict time limits and external oversight, to reduce the harm of segregation on vulnerable prisoners.

Comments: Town of Ajax zoning bylaw review

December 11, 2015 - Affordable housing is important to many individuals and groups protected under the Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code), such as students and other young persons, larger or single-parent families, persons with disabilities, Indigenous or racialized persons, and people who receive public assistance. Opposition to this housing, and to certain services, such as social services or methadone clinics, is often based on negative stereotypes and attitudes about the people who need the housing or service.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - submission

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

soumission

Mémoire de la CODP présenté dans le cadre de l’Examen indépendant des contrôles de routine

Le 1 mai 2018 - Le Règlement de l’Ontario 58/16 (« Collecte de renseignements identificatoires dans certaines circonstances – Interdiction et obligations ») (ci-après le « Règlement ») a été élaboré en réponse aux nombreux incidents de profilage racial dans les services policiers qui ont été signalés à l’échelle de la province, dans le but d’« assurer que les interactions entre la police et la population sont (...) exemptes de préjugés et de discrimination ». Malheureusement, de notre point de vue, cette promesse n’a pas été tenue et, en l’état actuel, le Règlement ne permet pas d’atteindre son objectif. Le profilage racial dans les services policiers demeure une réalité pour les Autochtones, les Noirs et les autres communautés racialisées. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) espère toutefois que l’Examen indépendant des contrôles de routine et les recommandations qui en découlent permettront de modifier le Règlement pour qu’il puisse enfin tenir sa promesse.

Mémoire relatif au projet de loi 89, la Loi de 2017 sur le soutien à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille

Le 3 avril 2017 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) accueille favorablement le dépôt du projet de loi 89, la Loi de 2017 sur le soutien à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille. Le projet de loi donne suite aux préoccupations relatives aux droits de la personne soulevées par la CODP à propos de différents aspects du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario, dont la surreprésentation des enfants et des jeunes autochtones et racialisés au sein du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario.

Mémoire de la CODP présenté dans le cadre de l’Examen indépendant des organismes de surveillance de la police

Novembre 2016 - Depuis près de vingt ans, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) exprime ses inquiétudes au sujet de la discrimination systémique qui fait partie intégrante de la culture des services policiers dans notre province. Nous avons vu trop de cas de profilage racial, de recours discriminatoire à la force à l’encontre de personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux ou des dépendances, voire de racisme et de sexisme dans les enquêtes sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées en Ontario. Ces incidents et les préoccupations qui en découlent ont fait l’objet d’un grand nombre d’enquêtes du coroner, de recommandations, d’examens et de rapports, et ce, depuis des dizaines d’années. Pour autant, la discrimination systémique n’a pas été éliminée des services policiers.

Mémoire complémentaire de la CODP au ministère de la MSCSC à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Mémoire complémentaire de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Octobre 2016

Mémoire de la CODP au MSGSC au sujet du changement de nom et de désignation du sexe

Le 23 mai 2016 - La CODP estime que le système actuellement utilisé par le MSGSC pour conserver et partager les renseignements relatifs aux changements de nom et de désignation du sexe est discriminatoire envers les personnes trans et enfreint le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, dans la mesure où il ne protège pas le caractère privé et confidentiel du statut de transgenre et de l’historique de transition. La divulgation de renseignements aussi critiques nuit non seulement à la dignité des personnes, mais risque également de les exposer à des obstacles et à des préjudices importants, voire de mettre en danger leur santé et leur sécurité.

Stratégie pour une meilleure sécurité en Ontario – Mémoire de la CODP présenté au MSCSC

Vingt-cinq ans après sa promulgation, le gouvernement provincial examine et révise la Loi sur les services policiers dans le cadre de sa Stratégie pour une meilleure sécurité en Ontario (la Stratégie). La CODP est heureuse d’avoir l’occasion de donner son point de vue au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels à propos de la Stratégie. 

Mémoire présenté par la CODP au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels à propos de l’examen de la politique provinciale en matière d’isolement

Le 16 février 2016 - La CODP se préoccupe du fait que le placement en isolement soit effectué d’une façon qui contrevient aux droits des détenus aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario. Par conséquent, la CODP demande au MSCSC de mettre fin à cette pratique et, d’ici à ce que cela soit fait, d’adopter des mesures intérimaires, y compris des limites de temps rigoureuses et mesures de surveillance externes, afin de réduire les torts causés par le placement en isolement aux détenus vulnérables.

Commentaires : Examen de la réglementation de zonage d’Ajax

Le 11 décembre 2015 - Le logement abordable revêt une importance pour beaucoup de personnes et de groupes protégés aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (Code), comme les étudiants et les autres jeunes, les familles nombreuses ou monoparentales, les personnes handicapées, les personnes autochtones ou racialisées, et les bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale. L’opposition à ce type de logements et à certains services, comme les services sociaux et les cliniques de traitement à la méthadone, repose souvent sur des attitudes et des stéréotypes négatifs à l’endroit des personnes qui nécessitent ces logements ou services.

Mémoire de la CODP au ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels sur les contrôles de routine

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) est heureuse d'avoir l'occasion de présenter ses observations sur le projet de règlement publié par le ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels sur les contrôles de routine.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - soumission